Never Again! (Maybe?)

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Circumstances required me to do some grocery shopping outside of my normal day. No big deal, I thought. I will just run in and get what I need. Ha! That was a dream.

Negotiating the course was tricky. Carts and people blocked pathways through the aisles. I peered down the aisle wondering, do I really need something here? Unfortunately, the answer was usually yes.

Not only were the stores filled with shoppers, but they echoed with the wailing of small children who did not want to be shopping and I’m sure they needed a nap. Their squalling made me want to cover my ears. By the time I had gathered all my necessary supplies, I had a pounding headache.

Finally the car was loaded, I sank into the driver’s seat wishing I could just close my eyes and rest, but there were items needing refrigeration in the back of my car. Onward I pressed, vowing to NEVER go grocery shopping on a Saturday again!

Thankfully, most of the time I can select another day since I am mostly retired. I’m sorry for those who work all week and that is the only day you have to shop. One day you too, will be able to abandon Saturday shopping.

 

 

22 thoughts on “Never Again! (Maybe?)

  1. Long ago, when my only day to grocery shop was Saturday, I would see little old ladies in the aisles, parking their carts in the middle, and making slow, deliberate decisions over each and every purchase. I vowed then that when I was elderly, with all kinds of time to shop, I would NOT be in the way of those who worked and could only shop on Saturdays. I would shop during the week. And, now I do. Preferably on Tuesdays, the slowest day for retail.

  2. I do Saturday shopping early (no crowds), but still occasionally find myself at the grocery store during the evening after work rush. Why? When I can pick my time? Old habits die hard.

  3. I’m with you! I try to avoid busy days/times. I’m currently on crutches and just tried out the local grocer’s online ordering. You have to pick it up, but you don;t have to leave your car. I might use this even after I’m off crutches.

  4. Lisa says:

    I thought you were going to talk about my least favourite time to go: after school! I have both of my children with me, and we are all tired, so we go home with a random assortment of snacks and one or two essentials (not always the same ones we went in to get.) I would like to find someone to shop for me I think! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Terje says:

    Saturday shopping is the worst. It takes a different kind of approach – either see it as a practice of patience or as an unusual adventure.

  6. lindabaie says:

    One of my favorite stores is a “no” on Sat. Sometimes there is not even a parking space! I hear you, and am glad you survived!

  7. It always seems that the stores are at their worst when we don’t need them to be. I think many of us have been in the same situation as you. Glad you made it through.

  8. Judy C. says:

    Oh I could feel your pain. I’ve experienced this and try to avoid it at all costs. Thank good there are better shopping days (if I really need to shop)!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

