Decision Day

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

It’s decision day!

The sun shirking its job, slept in.

Gray skies, misty drizzle

 A breath of coolness

 Greeted bare arms.

News media reported

 Long lines wrapped around the building.

Not so, in my polling place.

 Twenty minutes later,

 Decision recorded

I walked back out into the gray day,

But lighter in heart.

fullsizerender-14

 My civic responsibility completed.

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Decision Day

  1. I’ve been so behind in keeping up with you, Elsie. I thought the same gloom last week going to vote, plus me site was empty and grumpy. That was as noon. But then I voted and by later afternoon the sun came out and so did my patriotic optimism. Seems like forever ago now. Such a long week… LOVE the Finch quote btw. I just finished a book that reminded me a little tiny bit of him. He was such a good character.

  2. I know, why such a dreary day?! Glad you didn’t have a long line — neither did I! It is fun to think of all of us doing the same thing all around the country! 🙂

  3. A lovely way to remember this unprecedented day in our history. I wish I could feel like I’m “done” after voting, but it seems like our country is so divided and has so many competing issues, that we must stay plugged in to things we can do as individuals to support openness and fairness.

  4. Terje says:

    Quite a responsibility for all of you to vote during these elections. Waiting for the results on this side of the ocean too.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

