What’s for Lunch?

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Entering Jason’s Deli, I was surrounded by the sounds of people chatting while enjoying their lunch. As I was scanning the multitude of choices, I overheard several of my co-workers announce they were having a Rueben sandwich. My taste buds tingled with anticipation. Yes, that is what I want too!

Soon the sandwiches arrived. With a sigh, I lifted the top slice of bread to rearrange the corned beef and sauerkraut. (I find it annoying that it is all piled in the center.)

How is one to eat this arranged like this?

How is one to eat this arranged like this?

Yum! Half a sandwich consumed.

I remove the top slice of bread to begin the process of rearranging the corned beef and sauerkraut on this the second side. What’s that embedded in the sauerkraut? Something dark. Thinking it is a cabbage leaf, I prod to remove it. It is NOT a cabbage leaf. It is the full body of a dead moth! Ewww! My appetite has just disappeared (and perhaps several others at my table).

The manager is called over to examine my plate. He is rather flippant as he refers to the moth as additional protein. However, he gives me a plate for the salad bar. At least I can examine my food for foreign objects as I build a salad. I am not that enthusiastic about the salad, but I manage to eat a bit.

The best part is at the end. I ask for a new salad plate, but instead of returning to IMG_0922the salad bar, I visit the ice cream machine. A little vanilla ice cream surrounded by chocolate sauce helps to erase the memory of the sandwich.

Post note: I will NEVER visit Jason’s Deli ever again!

 

22 thoughts on “What’s for Lunch?

  1. Cue Miracle Max (Billy Crystal) in The Princess Bride… He loves an MLT sandwich: mutton, lettuce, and tomato where the mutton is nice and lean. Guess what the M is for in this case, Elsie? 🙂 Thanks for sharing your surprise as a slice.

  2. I’m sad because Jason’s Deli was a favorite spot for our family when we lived in Texas. My kids loved the ice cream station and everyone could manage to get something they liked. Boo! Hiss! For that manager without good customer skills.

  3. Terje says:

    Yuck! I am glad you had dessert to finish the dinner. Fortunately you have many other great places you have visited and will visit again.

  4. Oh my! The attitude of the manager is most appalling! But I love how you changed something bad into a sweet ending. Maybe you should write a review of that deli for Yelp or Trip Advisor.

  5. Oh my, I’ve never liked our Jason’s Deli, so am not surprised, but I am glad you hadn’t eaten any of it. I would write to the company. He should have offered free to your entire table! I had a waitress spill melted butter all over my lap one time, and that manager made our table on the house! What a story, Elsie!

  6. Judy C. says:

    Well, a Rueben was sounding really good, until. So glad you rearranged before eating! Mark that place off my restaurant list! Can’t believe he was flip about it and didn’t give you lunch on the house!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

