Ding!

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Ding! My phone announces a text. A quick look tells me It’s from the airline announcing my gate has changed, again. While I was in the air they texted two different gates. Now a third gate, PD6. That confuses me. I am fairly good at deciphering the signs in airports, but this one has me stymied. I check the monitors. Yup, PD6. There is no sign for a PD6, so I stop at the Assistance Center.

“Where would I find gate PD6?” I inquire.

Blank looks return my questioning look. The lady behind the desk looks at me as if I am nuts. I quickly show her the text to prove I’m not crazy.

She looks up the flight number, she tells me A30 is my gate. I just came from A30 which was deserted. She is insisting A30 would be the correct gate.

Ding! Another text from the airline. New gate will be B13. The lady updates her computer and now she agrees B13. I have a feeling this gate 13 is not going to be a lucky one.

No sooner do I get to the gate, ding! You guessed it, another text. What’s this? It’s not a gate change but a time change! A three hour delay from the original departure!

As I am beginning to notify my son that I will be later, ding! What now?! Your flight has been cancelled. You are rebooked but the airport has changed. What!? I have a rental car waiting for me at the original airport.

What a nightmare!

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Ding!

  1. Ugh! How frustrating. Air travel is getting more and more uncomfortable, isn’t it? I hope that with all the changes and the delays, it wasn’t too bad and you made it home safe and sound. 🙂

  2. I read all kinds of warnings that air travel this summer would be a nightmare, and you are living proof of that. So sorry…that is the worst feeling. It’s only happened to me once, but once was enough. There’s nothing you can really do but submit or have a heart attack. Hope it all worked out for you in the end.

  3. Alice Nine says:

    Your slice reminds me of just one of the many reasons why I’m enjoying my six week reprieve from air travel. Seriously, you had just one too many “dings.”

  4. Judy C. says:

    So sorry for all the grief. Flying is suppose to get us to our destinations quickly and without a lot of fuss. I guess the best part of your trip is what was waiting for you. Enjoy your visit and have lots of fun playing!

  5. that is awful. Were you able to rebook your rental car? What a mess. I’m glad you weren’t too late, but what a toll on your blood pressure. Good luck on your return flight.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

