Panic! . . . Momentarily

All week long,

Sitting, planning,

Thinking, typing,

Creating,

Preparing

For a new school,

Teachers of K-2

Finished, sigh, save.

New week,

Begin again

This time

Grades 3-5.

Sitting, planning,

Thinking, typing,

Creating, preparing,

Review previous notes.

Continue

Planning, typing, save.

Later

Open file,

Look for K-2 notes,

No notes!

Quick search

Of all documents.

No notes!

Panic rises!

Solution found in

Undo, but first

Create document,

Use Save As.

Files reconstructed.

Two sets of notes

Saved.

Breathing returns to normal.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “Panic! . . . Momentarily

  1. Whew! So glad this had a happy ending, Elsie! I’m too familiar with that moment of panic when it comes to technology. The format of this piece helped build suspense as I worried the worst had happened but hoped for the best.

  2. I like how you paced this. It actually reminds me of Inside Out; like we have a seat inside your head and this reads like how you kept cool and processed through it. There were little hints of EEK emotion that read so skillfully too. I mean, I’m a sucker for expressive text and you expressed yours beautifully. I’m so glad it worked out in the end, although I never doubted it!

  3. Alice Nine says:

    Between “panic rises” and “breathing returns to normal” I felt a rush of adrenaline . . . that experience is just too close to home. Great poem.

  4. Again, such a creative way of sharing a scary (even for a short time) experience when you think you have lost all of the work you have done. My husband always tells me that he can probably find things I have lost (on the computer…I seem to be able to find things he has lost around the house)….but I still have that minute of panic.

  5. Kinda’ goes with the territory in the tech world…writing and computer issues. Just one more thing to add to the anxiety. You got lucky this time! The format was fun, ideal for the subject matter. Kinda’ like quick chapters!

  6. When technology decides to malfunction you get the feeling of not being able to breathe and panic sets in. I have been there too. I’m so glad everything worked out! Loved how you structured your poem! So creative!😊

  7. lisaorchard1 says:

    Loved your poem. I have the same types of experiences with my writing, so I know exactly how you feel. I also like how you structured your poem on your page, very creative! πŸ™‚

  8. I loved that your title already told us “momentarily” so that I just needed to know HOW the issue was resolved! Great reminder to not completely melt down when tech does NOT cooperate!

  9. What a scary feeling when you can’t find what you know you saved. Having had my own computer issues not too long ago I know how you felt. Glad everything turned up.

  10. I really liked how you structured your poem on the page, in the three segments. It helped carry us along. By the time your words were up against the right margin, I was feeling the squeeze of your emotions!
    When I panic, I try to remember that its really hard to totally lose something on the computer! (Though we do manage it sometimes.)

Thanks for taking time to comment.

