Spring Settles In

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

IMG_2063IMG_2044

IMG_2046

IMG_2055

IMG_2053

IMG_2056

IMG_2054

IMG_2058

As I was driving out of my subdivision this week, I was surprised to notice peonies had already popped up. This made me start looking more closely at the changes taking place. All of a sudden I began to think in alliterative pairs. A seed of a poem began to take root in my mind. I grabbed my camera and took another wander around the neighborhood to capture more moments of spring. (Side note: the dandelions are not from my yard. 🙂 )

Once home I spent some time creating the collages with the app LiveCollage+. After the collages were set up,  I opened the app VanillaPen to add the words. Thus, the mostly alliterative poem was created. Spring has settled in. Unfortunately that means allergy sufferers are miserable. We are about to enter the green dusting phase. Are you?

33 thoughts on “Spring Settles In

  1. Creative construction with your fancy flowers–love the comments as much as your post. We are pollinated and yellow in GA–I suppose beauty has its price. Gorgeous photos!

  2. The flowers are gorgeous! Our few plants are now covered in 6″ of snow – with more snow tonight.
    Love the poem. I’ll have to check out the tools you used to create the poem.

  3. Terje says:

    Smiled (with a bit of envy) when I read and saw all the colorful blossoms (especially the plethora of petals), and then laughed when saw the dandelions. I actually don’t mind the dandelions. They’re related to the sun. (on a side note: I’ll be in Netherlands this weekend)

  4. YAY! Spring is back and so are your photos! I wish nature looked like that here in SE Wisconsin. My peonies have popped up, but the daffodils haven’t even bloomed yet. Soon….I hope.

  5. Love the pictures – you are much further along in spring then we are here in Minnesota!

    I just read a piece about not getting rid of the dandelions – they are some of the first flowers for the bees. Although it looks like your area has plenty of flowers!

  6. This is so cool! I laughed out loud at the ending. Spring is trying to break through here, but I think it’s supposed to snow in the coming days! This post put a smile on my face- that is a feat for this winter loving gal. 🙂

  7. I adore all of Mother Nature’s eye candy you included in this post. (And I just learned something new. I didn’t realize asparagus came up this early? My neighbor’s usually doesn’t come up until mid-summer.)

  8. Oh my goodness, Elsie, this is beautiful. I can’t believe you have so many gorgeous blooms already! Love that you created the collages, and added the poem lines. Love, “flowing phlox”!

  9. Judy C. says:

    It’s great living in the Ozarks where we have such an abundance of beauty so early in the season. Love your pics and so glad the dandelions are elsewhere!

  10. Wow! You knocked it out of the ballpark today, Elsie. Great alliterations, amazing photos cleverly collaged (notice the allliteration), and a post that generously shares your secrets. I need to figure out how to save this post forever. We are so far behind the midwest in terms of flowers budding, etc. In fact there was a freeze alert last night here in New York…had to bring in anything remotely fragile. Wish I could fly out there and take a walk with you and talk poetry!

  11. Loved your spring pics and the explanation of your process. My favorite has to be the regal redubds. I grew up with two redbud trees in our front yard in OK. Sadly, I rarely see them in the NW. I’m beginning to notice lots of fading color and leaves popping out. All good, with still lots of rhoddies left to enjoy!

  12. Love the photos and the humor about the dandelions, Elsie! I was absolutely thrilled – the alliteration, colors, and your explanation of your process – all wonderful! I will look for you each Tuesday! Thanks for the mention of the app!

  13. rosecappelli says:

    Spring is definitely farther along in the mid-west than here in the east! Your pictures are beautiful and the poem was perfect. Thanks for sharing the apps. I really want to try the collage.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

