An Annoyance

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Glass enclosure confines

The steam,

Water and steam meet to warm

The body.

Don’t break the seal of the door . . . yet.

Reach for draped towel

To

 Whisk away wetness,

Now dry, it’s safe to open

The door.

Cool air

Allowed to explore exposed skin.

There it is!

                    A hair

                               Lands

                                      On

                                             The shoulder.

A single strand

                      Irritates.

Hands brush it away,

                             Quickly!

Sunlight reveals

Hair floating

Like fall leaves

Settling on the floor.

A final blast

Sends

More

              Strands

                          On

                                Their

                                            Way

What’s that prickling

The neck?

A new battle begins.

It’s a wonder

Any hair

Remains attached.

21 thoughts on “An Annoyance

  1. I love the contrast between the bliss of the shower and the annoyance of the hair! I HATE stray hairs, and they’re everywhere!!! So fun! I always love your playful perspective!

  2. I always enjoy your poems. This one made me smile. To be so nice and toasty in the shower and then have to open the door into the cold. Brrrrrrr And then…that darned stray hair!

  3. Elsie,
    You captured the moments one gets out of the shower so perfectly. Your poem cracked me up! I too deal with the loose hair issue also and you shared my feelings exactly!

  4. There’s nothing worse than hair in the bathroom. Well, hair in your mouth is right up there, but hair in the bathroom just never goes away. Thanks for the laughter. Brought back memories of showering after my sisters.

  5. Hee hee! What a fun poem! Loved all the crafting you did to it to really tell the story. Quit worrying about the hair. I know someone who has a wig you could use if it ever gets too bad. 🙂

  6. Great opening lines here. I was sitting in the steam with you. I love how the words tilt down and mimic the falling hair! What a nuisance hair can be, and clearly what humor can be made in those moments!

  7. Lynn says:

    Too funny Elsie! This sounds like my very thoughts every time I shower . . . they say an average person loses 50-100 can be up to150 stands of hair a day! Some days I find I want to count them, it’s sort of scary!

  8. This could be subtitled: The “Joys” of Womanhood. Such an annoyance is right. For something that is a part of our body, they really exist almost completely on their own. I love how you made this a playful, teasing, twisted kind of problem. It brought light and made it like a dance. Very nicely done. I love when you are a poet.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

