Hope Lies in a Bud

 

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

I have a peach tree.peach tree

I have a peach tree that has not had a peach for two years.

I have a peach tree that has not had a peach for two years because cold weather blew in.

I watch my peach tree.

I watch my peach tree for signs of buds.

I watch my peach tree for signs of buds hoping that winter IMG_5030is over because I see buds and a few have blossomed.

I wait for the other buds.

I wait for the other buds to open and invite the bees to pollinate.

I wait for for the other buds to open and invite the bees to pollinate so I can savor the sweet taste of sunshine that is a perfect peach.IMG_1945

 

23 thoughts on “Hope Lies in a Bud

  1. I love the cumulative structure of this piece. I’m a little worried about the peaches though, because I started at the end and am reading backwards, and I know a couple of weeks later there is a freeze. I hope your peaches made it.

  2. Joyce says:

    I envision fresh peaches in your kitchen. You have made me question myself about choices I’ve made…and changes I will make.
    A peach tree may well be my answer!

  3. I had a peach tree once. It sat beside a plum tree. It made jars and jars of peach jam. Loved those peaches. Sending you lots of hope that this is the year for your peach tree.

  4. I hope that you get your peaches, too! You watching and hoping and imagining made me feel like it’s going to happen this year. Our favorite trips to the Farmer’s Market are when we can buy peaches – so delightful!

  5. Love this format and I like Erin’s name for it – taffy structure. I know we’ll hear more about your peach tree. I’m pulling for that sweet taste of sunshine in your future.

  6. My daughter has a peach tree too, and it’s a mystery each year whether it will give them this delectable fruit or not. I’m hopeful for yours, Elsie, and for theirs too!

  7. Your post today is so peachy! (Sorry, I couldn’t resist.) I am envious of your peach tree. We don’t have any fruit trees in our development but lots of trees otherwise. I, too, am waiting for certain buds to bloom. The anticipation is such a pleasing feeling…almost like Christmas!

  8. I love your use of repetition in this slice. We used to have several peach orchards here in my hometown and I remember this time of year being such a temperamental time. I so hope you get to taste that sunshine this year!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

