Leaping Fences

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

In the fading light, my husband spots movement on the road ahead. At the entrance to our subdivision, he slows the car to allow a deer to leap over the fence, then dash across the road into the brush. As the car begins to creep forward, more movement makes him pull the car over to the edge of the road and completely stop, mesmerized by what we see.

Excitedly we see an additional four young deer. Our eyes travel up the field to discover more. How many are there? As we count, more come galloping down to the fence. One, two, three, six, seven, still more! Some leap effortlessly, however, some freeze in their tracks. They stare at the fence, hoping a gate will magically swing open. They mill about, confused. What should they do?

One decides if you can’t go over it, you go through it. It stumbled between the slats, then took off running. The others have been still too long. One brave soul took a running start and sailed over the fence. This gave the rest courage to try. One by one they flew over the fence and disappeared into the brush. At least a dozen passed us at dusk one evening.

Just imagine a dozen deer leaping over this fence.

Just imagine a dozen deer leaping over this fence. The top three photos shows the path the deer took, running down the field, over the road, into the brush.

20 thoughts on “Leaping Fences

  1. You brought me into this awe-filled moment with such precision in your storytelling…it also left me wondering about the deer who went through the fence. I bet it was scared and hurt…

  2. This reminds me of a night I saw a whole herd of deer right on the school grounds in the middle of suburbia! I love the tension you create with this line, “As we count, more come galloping down to the fence. One, two, three, six, seven, still more!” I was asking myself, “How many will they see?” I smiled. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Melanie Roy says:

    What a gift to be able to observe deer in nature like that. Our lives are so hectic nowadays that it must be good for your soul to have views like that to just be still and take it all in.

  4. Terje says:

    More than seven? Wow. Nature and you go so well together. Do you know how many nature (plant, birds, critters and animals) slices have you written?

  5. It is almost like you witnessed your own little bit of magic. I love that your hubby pulled the car over so you could just stop and savor. The world stopped for a bit, and you were captivated by the moment. The way you wrote it allowed me to be there with you, enthralled and amazed at what you experienced.

  6. rosecappelli says:

    I always love your pictures, but even without them I could imagine the scene with just your words. Deer are fascinating, and it’s always much better to see them leaping fences than laying on the road. Thanks for this wonderful slice.

  7. I enjoyed this blog — I live in rural Iowa and have finally, after more than a decade of driving, realized my life is much easier if I leave a few extra minutes in my trip for the deer I will see when I am driving.

    I also enjoy your sub-quote on your blog. I’ve not yet read the book, but I think Finch is a character I will like.

  8. That’s really cool. I am always a fan of when you include pictures to give more insight to the story. That many deer leaping is pretty incredible. I read it to my sons and they both went “whoa!”

  9. There’s still some magic in the world. Seeing so many young deer making their first attempt at a fence is a magical moment…one to be savored as you have done with this post. Thanks for the magic!

  10. Lynn says:

    Isn’t it funny Elsie how deer can have that effect on us? I used to see deer all the time where I used to live, not so much in New Mexico ;-).

  11. I can imagine it with ease because of your descriptive writing! I loved the way you captured the uncertainty the deer might have felt before taking the running start toward the fence…a delightful slice!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

