Plans Change

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

A busy week approached: make-up days in a school, birthday celebrations, tickets to Wicked all crammed into a few days. Each event was falling into place, and there was still a bit of breathing space between events. That’s what I thought . . .

 

Lunch prepared, heading to the office to collect my supplies for the day when my phone dinged, signaling a message. It’s the principal of the school. “Just checking to see if you got the email with the schedule.” I respond, “I hope you mean the one where I am working in your building today.” She responds with, “Yes, but we have a half day today.”

Oh no! is my reaction. I had checked the Google doc, but it didn’t indicate what grades on what days. We usually do half days on Wednesday/, this was Tuesday. My whole scheduled crumbled.

In my perfect world, I would would work all day with two grades, go to see Wicked in the evening. Sleep in the next day, but still have time to take my mother out to breakfast for her birthday before returning to school for a half day. Finish the week out with another full day of working with teachers. This schedule did not happen. Instead . . .

I spent the morning reading/commenting on slices before leaving for my half day of school. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of Wicked that evening. Pulled my tired self out of bed the following morning to work all day. Barely made it to eight o’clock before falling asleep. Another early morning, but at least I was more rested. Finished my make up days. Friday was a day to step back and take life slower.

It wasn’t the week I mentally planned, but it all turned out in the end. Wonder what surprises are waiting for me this week. 🙂

18 thoughts on “Plans Change

  1. Ooh, I’m not a fan of changes in plans! Although being a teacher has certainly helped me learn to adjust quickly, as it looks like you did! I liked how we could feel just what you were thinking throughout this post! 🙂

  2. Yes, changes, interruptions, unexpected schedules are challenging whether we are children or adults…sounds as if you had a wicked (ha!) good week all the same!

  3. Jackie Haworth Hoy says:

    Just one little change and the dominoes fall…but you made it. I wonder though….did you get to take your mother to breakfast?

  4. When we put ourselves out there, life demands our flexibility. Fortunately, as women/caretakers/professionals we are good at it, and you are no exception! But don’t we love those occasional days at home…with no demands 🙂

  5. Terje says:

    Rescheduling, replanning, rethinking – being open to change allowed you to enjoy how the days unfolded.When the busy is followed with taking life slower, the busy is easier to accept.

  6. It’s challenging, but think of all the neuron pathways that are activated when Plan 1 is aborted and we are forced to adapt. Good for us and provides great fodder for writing too!

  7. Judy C. says:

    Flexibility – the name of the game! Glad that you were able to accomplish all you needed to do and enjoy the rest (even it it wasn’t as planned).

Thanks for taking time to comment.

