Don’t Change!

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Why do the words new, improved, easier on WordPress strike fear in my heart? Could it be that after five years of blogging, I am more or less comfortable with the mechanics of posting? This journey of writing and posting has been one of trial and error. Might I add more errors than trials?

A couple of weeks ago, I opened up my WordPress to write a post and nothing looked the same on my dashboard. I clicked here and there trying to find my comfortable page to write my post. It was not happening. So I set about learning this new look. Typing words was not an issue, but inserting a photo was a disaster. I could not even locate my file of photos! I wanted to save my work, but the “save draft” button was not active. Click here, click there, still not active. Panic is starting to set in. I’m thinking my blogging career is at an end. I step away to clear my head.

A little later, I return. No grand plan has emerged. I looked to google to offer some help for my situation, but somehow my search words don’t yield the answer to my problem. Hmmmm . . .  I am stumped as I stare at the screen with unfamiliar language. I decide to start again, so back to my original page. What if I open up WP Admin? Maybe that is my way to find the dashboard I’m used to using. Oh look, there’s an option for add a post and it will show all posts. Click . . . it worked! Things look normal! I’m back to my comfortable dashboard where I know what to do. 🙂

There’s still a banner at the top of my drafting page that says: There’s now an easier way to create on WordPress.com! Switch to the improved posting experienceI’m just not brave enough to try it, yet.

 

22 thoughts on “Don’t Change!

  1. Funny how someone else’s idea of “new and improved” can turn out to be “changed and terrible”! But… also funny how after a few months of use, the “new / changed” becomes so normal you often can’t remember what you were so attached to!

  2. Yikes! This sounds awful There are some things I just want to be able to DO, I don’t want them to be new and improved! Glad I don’t use Word Press!

  3. My advice…don’t try the “new, improved experience.” I did and got hopelessly confused. Like you, I was already confused by the changes in WordPress that just sorta’ appeared one day, and like you it took me a while and a lot of trial and error to figure out how to continue to use it. And like you, I, too, thought it might be the end of my blogging career! The important thing is not to panic; to take a break and come back later or another day when one’s head is clearer. Stick with what’s working for you. I did, and I haven’t looked back.

  4. Blogger did this a while ago, and then gmail added a new interface. It is a trial and error I know. And sometimes I really don’t want to spend the time re-learning! Glad you got your old dashboard back-woo-hoo!

  5. rosecappelli says:

    I can relate! Every time I am asked to update to a new version of anything I start to get sweaty palms and heart palpitations. It reminds me of being back at school and being asked (told) to switch to a new program which may or may not be improved!

  6. I am with you! Mine changed even though I didn’t ask for the change,either, after a long time of seeing the warning. But I am changing back! As many a wise person has been known to say, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!”

  7. New and improved — tekkies trying to be hip and relevant all the time– can be exhausting. But I will say for WordPress that I love that an online helper came on offering assistance the morning I almost jumped off a bridge trying to figure out categories and tags on menus. They offer super help — links to the answer to questions.
    I also hate it when my local grocery store moves everything around, too. So, there you go.

  8. I seriously dislike the new posting mechanism and have been sticking to old tried and true. If Bonnie is going to give a tutorial I am in. Also wouldn’t mind meeting you all face to face either.

  9. I hate the new and improved myself. I freaked out the same way. I’m not sure how it’s “improved” on the old, trusty dashboard. New one feels watered down and not easier in the least.

  10. I know!! Don’t you hate that. I did the same thing. Muddled around until I found the old and comfortable writing experience. Now, though, it seems harder and harder to find the old way. Or maybe I’m getting used to the new. Call me if you get stuck again!

    • I think I need one-on-one tutoring. Maybe next time I;m out your way we can set that up. 🙂 Unless I can get Bonnie to come do in-house tutoring.

      • Terje says:

        This would my favorite way to learn. The experimenting by myself could make things worse. Glad that you found the solution, at least for now.

  11. I’m with you Elsie. I stayed away from the new look for months. I’m in it now. Seems like there’s no choice. I miss the old format but I am getting used to the new one now, but I joined it kicking and screaming.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

