Tastes to Tempt

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

You would think traveling back and forth across the country would allow us to explore a variety of cuisines. Unfortunately, we always seem to be in the same place, at the same time, with limited options for variety in dining pleasures. We prefer to by-pass the usual chain restaurants. We can eat that at home, if we wanted to, which we don’t.

So Yelp has become my friend when we are on the road. A few years ago we discovered a fabulous hole-in-the-wall Italian restaurant in San Diego. We have learned not to judge a place by its exterior, but rather by the words of reviewers.

Gallup, New Mexico seems to be our stopping point for some meal no matter if we are traveling west or east. For years we have resigned ourselves to Cracker Barrel, (sigh) until Yelp told me about a burger spot. My eyes lit up when I found a place called 505 Burgers with an abundance of good reviews. I LOVE a great burger! I was not disappointed! It took a few tries to locate this place stuck in a strip shopping center.

Not much to look at, but what a treat inside!

Not much to look at, but what a treat inside!

The list of burgers was long and tempting, but finally we each decided on one. (The menu is either burgers or wings.) When the waitress brought our plates I had to push the fries aside to uncover my burger. The burgers were great and the fries incredible!

 

Before eating

Before eating

After eating my fill

After eating my fill, and I ate a lot, there was still a serving for two left on the plate.

I know we will be stopping here again. I just hope we don’t travel on a Saturday, they close at 5:00.

As we head east, we need a lunch spot and here we are in Gallup once again. What does Yelp recommend? The West End Donut and Deli. photo 1 (24)I must say, I agree! The six inch sandwich is more like ten to twelve inches. They are not fancy, but it hits the right spot when you are tired of fried and more fried food. One day I suppose I should try a donut.

photo 2 (25)

 

18 thoughts on “Tastes to Tempt

  1. There is nothing I like better than a good burger! My absolute all time favorite food! And I’m driving through Gallup on Saturday! Wonder if we can get there before 5???

  2. Ooh, is that a pretzel bun on your burger? Yum! I love that you are so adventurous with trying all these hole-in-the-wall places… I’m not generally that brave! 🙂

  3. I should not be reading this before dinner, Elsie. Oh my, that burger looks fabulous! Sarah & I found a new place nearby in Denver recently, but if I’m ever in Gallup?

  4. This reminds me of Diners, Drive Ins and Dives — how we can find unexpected gems just by heading off the beaten path. I think maybe I need to try using Yelp at home too. Time to find some new places to eat!

  5. If I ever find myself in Gallup I will know where to go. The roll on that burger looked interesting. It looks two toned in the picture. Like it might be two different types of bread?

  6. Lynn says:

    Yummy! Food looks awesome Elsie. I have not ventured to Gallop, but when I do I will definitely go to 505 Burgers . . . I always say I could be a vegetarian if it weren’t for a good cheeseburger!

  7. There is nothing like a good burger—and I don’t mean McDonalds or Burger King. I would much rather take the reviews of people over food critics when looking for a place to eat.

  8. Can’t believe that you didn’t try a donut. Or at least take one for a few miles down the road. Are you on your way home from California? As you can see, your blogger friends are a curious bunch!

  9. Thanks for the tip about Yelp! The food looks delicious. I’ve been to Gallup…twice…and stayed in a very retro Old West hotel there whose name I can’t remember at the moment. Brings back memories. Thanks for sharing your adventures on the road.

  10. Judy C. says:

    Since we’re heading that direction in a couple of days, I’ll have to check it out on the map to see if it fits into our “lunch time frame”. Sounds and looks yummy! Thanks for the review.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

