Phone Calls

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit the award winning Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Phone call 1:

Saturday evening, sitting on the couch, reading bits of this and that on the iPad when my cell phone rings. It’s my brother-in-law. I sigh, a deep sigh, I don’t want to answer it. I know he’s going to tell me he won’t be able to come here for Christmas.

Earlier in the week he’d hinted he might be coming. I sent several text messages with food photos to tempt him if only he’d come. The last time we’d spoken he didn’t sound too hopeful.

“Is the Springfield Spa still accepting reservations for Christmas?” were the words I heard when I answered the ring. Immediately my face lit into a huge smile. “Of course,” was my response. He had two conditions that were non-negotiable: 1) we must go out for dinner one night, 2) he will be allowed to fix dinner another night. I didn’t even have to think twice as I accepted his terms.

Christmas holidays just got a little brighter.

Phone call 2:

Monday evening, sitting on the couch chatting with my husband about the girlfriends’ Christmas dinner I’d just returned from when my phone played the ringtone of my son. Eagerly I answered this call since we hadn’t talked the day before. This time he was bursting with good news.

Earlier this fall he’d traveled to Sacramento to take an exam related to his job. This exam is part of extending his certification in his geophysics field. He studied all summer for it. He did not have a good feeling about it after taking the exam. It was hard! However, all the worry was for naught! He had just opened the letter that announced he PASSED! Plus he told us he’d been given a small promotion with his company. The joy in his voice made my heart sing. We are so proud of what he has accomplished!

Two phone calls days apart put JOY into our Christmas holiday. I hope there is joy your Christmas. Merry Christmas everyone!

15 thoughts on “Phone Calls

  1. Joyce says:

    Such nice phone calls before Christmas! Your Happy New Year has already kicked off. Congratulations to the son…..I know your feeling. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  2. Wonderful news for your son!….and nice to hear it before the holidays. I love that you put JOY in red text. It is nice to hear that families are happy for in-laws to join in the Christmas spirit. We always go to Chicago to my sister’s and what fun it is to see the children of extended families bringing joy to all with their peals of laughter. Merry Christmas to you.

  3. Lynn says:

    Love this!!! There is nothing better than spending time with loved ones and having our children burst with excitement about something they’ve done! Congrats to you and your son Elsie!!! Have the best holiday!!!

  4. Both special calls, bringing big smiles! So happy for you, Elsie to spend time with your brother-in-law, and congratulations to your son. It’s a big deal and I imagine those tests are hard, so he should be doubly pleased. Merry, merry Christmas to you and the family.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

