Counting Down

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Last Saturday began the count down

7 days until they arrive: shopping for diapers, wipes, formula, food

6 days until they arrive: finish notes for work in December, so I can enjoy my next week

5 days until they arrive: organize office so it can be a bedroom

4 days until they arrive: survey the house to remove hazards for a crawling 10 month child

3 days until they arrive: clean house

2 days until they arrive: finishing touches on house and yard

1 day until they arrive: final grocery shopping, fix food, what have I forgotten?

The day they arrive: pick up the rental minivan, hug and hug, repeat

My son, his wife, and two daughters will arrive on Saturday to spend the week with us. We truly are thankful to share this holiday together.

Saturday I will get to put my arms around these two. I have not seen them since May. Can't wait!

Saturday I will get to put my arms around these two. I have not seen them since May. Can’t wait!

 

 

20 thoughts on “Counting Down

  1. Isn’t it just the best?
    Happy hugging. Squeeze them till they giggle!
    You are so blessed to have them around for a whole week. Don’t even worry if you don’t get all the list done – the last item is the most important one!

  2. Kathy Douglas says:

    I’m so happy for you. Enjoy every minute. Even the getting ready part. Then take loads of pictures. You are making memories. Then make a book of the time together so you can continue the time as long as possible!!!! Have a great holiday.

  3. Love the anticipation! And I have to say, I’m impressed that you buy diapers, wipes and formula for them-so thoughtful. I don’t think it would ever occur to my parents to do that or for me to ask!

  4. Love the countdown for how it captures the building anticipation as well as the pressure to get things done! And then the prize! I hope you have a very happy week together!
    On another note…Slice of Life never emailed me today (or last night) so I am clueless as to how to reach them to tell them this and I have no idea how to get my post published today. Help!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

