Wicked!

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Musicals put a smile on my face and get my feet tapping. I confess, I LOVE musicals. My mother had soundtracks for Oklahoma!, Sound of Music, My Fair Lady, and many more. Those were the tunes playing whenever chores were being completed. I could sing along to each and every tune. It was many years later that I actually saw the stage performance of these shows.

My love of musicals continued as I sat rapt with attention to Miss Saigon, Phantom of the Opera, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. My personal favorite has been Les Miserables, but that may change in February.

Wicked is coming to our city! Growing up, The Wizard of Oz was a must see movie event. My siblings and I sat glued to the television. We ate dinner off TV trays (a rare event) so we wouldn’t miss a single second. This movie was magic! So you can imagine my excitement when Wicked came out. However, I was never in a place where it was playing. (Isn’t that just so sad?)

When the performing arts center announced their new line up of shows this year, my heart skipped a beat. Wicked was listed for February! However, tickets were not on sale, yet.

Sunday’s paper announced tickets would go on sale at 7:00 a.m. Friday. I would be there, waiting in line to get some great seats. All this changed when I happened to check my email today. Because I am a subscriber to the newspaper, I could go on-line to get tickets today! My heart skipped a beat! Here was the chance to avoid rising in the dark, shivering in line on a frosty morning with a multitude of strangers.

Quickly my fingers flew to the web site. I entered the password and now the choice had to be made. What day, what time, where to sit? The web site had a counting down clock, I only have three minutes to complete this portion. My heart is racing, my fingers tap, tapping out the information as quickly as possible. Hit the send button. What? The message states, “your email does not match.” Quickly retyping, clock is ticking. Submit.

You have purchased your tickets. Relief! So in February, I will be singing along to Defying Gravity, Popular, and many more. Can’t wait!

21 thoughts on “Wicked!

  1. WHAT? 🙂 One would think on a road trip I would find out about your love of musicals, I guess I am just too busy yakking! As always you know how to take a moment and weave it into a suspenseful story! I feel your delight and anticipation!

  2. Mandy Robek says:

    Quickly my fingers flew to the website – what a great description, I could visualize that with great speed. I LOVE Wicked too and have taken my two older daughters on a special date when they were each in middle school. I saw it’s coming to us next summer and I can’t wait to take the third daughter. This show has such a great message for girls!

  3. I love musicals too! My mom was a big fan. I grew up listening to albums of Oklahoma, South Pacific, My Fair Lady. I continued the habit and passed it on to one of my kids (my middle son!).

    Wicked is amazing. So glad you got those tickets.

  4. sallydonnelly11 says:

    You will LOVE it!! I was lucky enough to see it as a guest of my mother-in-law at the Kennedy Center from the third balcony. I still want to see it again to be closer but the music and story line is magical!!

    As for your small moment writing…you nailed it! I got why you were so excited and how stressful the online timed ordering was for you! Great piece!

  5. rosecappelli says:

    Every once in awhile when I would break into a song from a Broadway show my daughter would ask how I know all those songs. Like you, I grew up listening to the songs from Oklahoma, Camelot, Carousel, and many more. I share your memories and love of The Wizard of Oz. Enjoy the show- it’s great!

  6. I can totally relate to your love of musicals and to the anxiety of ordering on line and wondering if you’d done so correctly. I planned a European vacation last year and at one point thought I’d actually booked a flight out of the wrong city. Eek! Can’t wait to hear what you think of Wicked and will look forward to that post. And you also have months to anticipate it! Win! Win!

  7. I need some good Broadway shows to come to Hershey next year. I didn’t like the line-up this year so we’re not going to anything. (We did do “Annie” over the summer.)

    ENJOY the theater, Elsie.

  8. Lynn says:

    Gosh Elsie my heart was beating for you! It’s so much pressure sometimes when ordering limited items on line. Glad you were able to get tickets . . . I’ll look forward to hearing about it!

  9. Terje says:

    How exciting! When I buy tickets months in advance, I worry I might forget the date when it arrives. Fortunately it hasn’t happened.

  10. Wonderful. I’ve never seen it although it’s been here. Maybe someday. So glad it all worked! The Lion King is here now, but we decided to wait one more year to take the girls. I took Carter a long time ago & he was mesmerized. I love the musicals, had all those albums too, & a huge Rodgers & Hammerstein songbook, a treasure. One favorite is still Cabaret, saw it with Liza Minnelli & Joel Grey years ago-marvelous.

  11. We had a pool table in our basement and my sister and I spent many hours listening to “Fiddler on the Roof” and “Jesus Christ Superstar” on our reel to reel tape player. It was “portable” (about 2’x2′)! We also had “The Sound of Music” and “Hair” on LP. These are the soundtracks of my youth. I haven’t seen “Wicked”, but I envy you!

  12. So there’s finally something we disagree on. I do not like musicals. But I can identify with the whole anxiety thing about getting tix online to something I really, REALLY want to see. Isn’t it silly that we get so worked up about these things? I am happy for you that you will get to fulfill a long-held dream of getting to see this show.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

