Passing Through

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

A change in my schedule last Tuesday, found me sitting at my desk reading and responding to several bloggers’ Slice of Life post. My desk faces a window, which allows me to note the happenings on this part of our street. Usually it is only a passing car, occasionally a person might be out for a walk. Not exactly exciting material for a Slice of Life, until last Tuesday.

Hurricane Patricia sent a bit of moisture our way. At the moment, it was a very light rain. The blinds were in a more closed than open position. I was typing away when a movement made me look up. Was that a dog? A cat? What? I quit typing and rose up out of my seat to get a better look. It wasn’t a dog or a cat! Trotting across our front yard was a fox!

My immediate thought was, I need a picture! No one will believe me. The fox paused for half a second, but I was not fast enough. I didn’t want to frighten it with movement behind the window, so I moved cautiously to the window. I grabbed my phone laying on the desk and tried to get a shot, but it was on the move.

The fox was heading down my neighbor’s driveway by the time I could get the camera of the phone ready. I had one chance for a shot. Click! It continued its journey down the street, unmindful of the commotion happening in my office.

Quick! Grab the phone and take a shot! Darn, the fox is too far away. But wait, maybe I can bring it closer. See next photo.

Quick! Grab the phone and take a shot! It walked across the landscaping you see in the photo. Darn, the fox is too far away. But wait, maybe I can bring it closer. See next photo.

Thanks to zoom and crop, I was able to make the fox a little more visible.

Thanks to zoom and crop, I was able to make the fox a little more visible.

I wasn’t supposed to be home. What luck that I was in the right place at the right time to see this elusive member of Mother Nature’s family.

 

14 thoughts on “Passing Through

  1. Joyce says:

    What a wonderful capture for you! I have always heard it is more unusual to spot a red fox than a grey one. I always count myself lucky to see either……as long as I don’t have chickens.

  2. How wonderful that you were able to capture your little visitor. This reminds me of the book I finished not too long ago: How to Outfox Your Friends by Jess Keating. What a sly, but beautiful animal.

  3. Glad you got the phone quick. Good picture, Elsie. We have foxes, but some have been scared away by coyotes (we are told). I am wary on the evening walks now because several have been spotted. And I live in the city!

  4. Judy C. says:

    Nature at it’s best. I miss seeing all the deer congregate in our yard – now it’s just cows in the back yard and of course our swan on the pond.

  5. A fox on the loose… Wow! It is amazing what we can discover when we look out the window. This morning, while eating breakfast, I discovered five, then six, then seven, then eight, then NINE vultures in our trees. They were having a standoff. It was fascinating to watch!

  6. Love this slice from the window at your desk! And your telling of it . . . made me feel right beside you, scrambling for the camera, hoping you’d get the shot. Reminded me of the time I was studying (in graduate school at the time) in our family room and a mama raccoon and her three babies strolled down the driveway. No pic except the one in my memory, still crystal clear more than two decades later.

  7. I know that feeling of wanting to grab a shot! We had wild turkeys walking down our street a while ago. They were not happy when I tried to step outside to grab a photo. You did much better than I!
    Nature all around us – what fun!

  8. Lynn says:

    Great shot Elsie! It is so amazing when we are able to capture pictures like this. The other day a hawk was sitting on our fence but unfortunately I was not fast enough to get his picture.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

