Schedule Mix-Up

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Sometime in the spring, I create a schedule for the days I will work in the next  school year. Usually by the time school rolls around there might need to be a change or two. That makes me nervous. I worry that I might mix up dates. So far, I have not had a problem.

This week is one of the weeks changed. Originally I was scheduled for full days Wednesday and Thursday, and half a day Friday. The calendar was changed to full days Tuesday and Thursday with Wednesday being the half day.

I had just finished making my handout copies at the office when my phone rang. The number was displayed, but I did not know who was calling. The called identified herself and my heart dropped. It was the principal and her next words did not comfort me. “We have a scheduling problem.” Oh, no! Was I supposed to be there right now? Then she said. “Our person who schedules substitutes has subs for us on Wednesday, Thursday, and half day on Friday. Apparently she did not get the schedule change. Would you be able to work those days or should we reschedule?”

Relief flowed through my veins, my heart began to beat at a normal rate. I replied, “No problem, I can do Wednesday, Thursday, and half day on Friday.” She profusely thanked me for being so flexible. I assured her, it was not a problem. I’m just thankful it wasn’t a mistake on my end. Now I will have to make sure she has notified the sub scheduler of our other changes.

 

16 thoughts on “Schedule Mix-Up

  1. Leigh Anne says:

    I subbed while I was going to school to get my teaching degree and that was my worst fear! We did have have a few scheduling mix-ups, but I would not want that job! How lucky they are to get you for two and half days no matter when they are!

  2. Oh how I hate that feeling…thinking I have forgotten something or dropped the ball in some way. I could really relate to the relief that washed over you when you realized you had not made a mistake. Thank goodness!

  3. Judy C. says:

    I could feel your heart sinking with as the call progressed. It’s always challenging to change one’s schedule, but when retired, it isn’t nearly as difficult. Glad it all worked out.

  4. Mandy Robek says:

    How joyful you have the ability to be so flexible and really the first plan was meant to be! Enjoy your time with this group.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

