Whoops!

Dinner is simmering on the stove. My husband is relaxing in the recliner while watching the news when unexpectedly . . . the power goes off. Dimness settles over the room momentarily then . . . the power flickers. On . . . off, oooonnnn . . . off. On, off, off, off. On, is it over? Will the power stay? The sky outside was bright blue, we had no clue as to the cause of the flickering power. We look at each other, shrug, and continue our previous activities.

I move to the refrigerator to begin salad preparation, where I discover the display panel flashing a message in red. E – 33 blinks at me. Apparently this is a result of the previous power outage/surge. I have no clue what message that is a code is trying to tell me. Quickly I scan the options of the control panel but do not see a reset button.

My husband begins searching the internet for a manual or a suggestion on how to reset the display panel. I continue with dinner preparations, noting that dinner will take longer since our cooktop is electric.

Husband is not finding anything related to E – 33 online. Quickly I prepare the garlic toast and stick it under the broiler to toast. I grab my iPad to see if I can have any luck online.

Sniff, sniff . . . oh no! I’ve forgotten the bread under the broiler! They are now unrecognizable, charred slices of bread. I snatch up the oven pad to grab the tray and immediately drop them into the disposal. The smoke detector begins its annoying beeping. Disposal is grinding. Beeping stops, then starts, stops, starts. My husband is waving a towel to dissipate the air. Charred bread odor fills the room.

Meanwhile, dinner has finished cooking and I have remade bread. The E – 33 still glares at us as we sit down to eat. I try to avoid looking in that direction during dinner.

After dinner, we resume the search for help with the refrigerator. I try calling the 800 number but the phone shrieks and informs me that number no longer works. I dial it over and over with the same results. How can this be? A major appliance company does not discontinue a toll free number.

My husband calls from his cell. Now the number works. After a bit, we finally learn the key to resetting the display on the refrigerator. This information is written on the front of the appliance manual for future reference.

Now we must figure out what is going on with our phone. I dial my mother’s number. Same disconnected shriek as before. I use my cell phone to call her and it goes right through. I have her to call me to see if we can get calls in. She calls, I answer. It’s working. I call her back, it’s not working. Sigh! It seems that we will need to replace this phone.

The next day, the phone is working just fine. Glad we didn’t replace it, yet.

Hope we don’t have anymore of those power on/off issues!

22 thoughts on “Whoops!

  1. I love how you keep your priorities straight in an emergency: food is not neglected! Hope all is back to normal before you take off for Warsaw. Wondering what you have stocked in the fridge for Mike?

  2. Sounds like another day in the digital paradise we all share. I so miss non-digital technology. Life seemed more manageable and less disruptive! What have we allowed to happen to ourselves? You capture the experience so well with your well chosen, well sequenced words. Meanwhile,I am enjoying life off the grid for a week or so. (Read my new post:Big SurD)

  3. What images! And the smell of the burnt toast! Exquisitely captured!

    Let’s see . . .what was it like when our grandmothers labored over a wood stove? And used an icebox? I remember stories from those days!

  4. I know. some ETs zoomed unnoticeable overhead causing havoc with all things electrical.Don’t you just love when things flash their red numbers at you as if you know exactly what they are saying? Glad things are back in working order. Just to be safe, though, keep an eye to the sky.

  5. Wow! I would have thrown the potholders on the counter, turned everything off, and gone out to eat. You persevere at a task longer than I do. Lots of details in this piece that made it come alive. I love the part about how you sit down to dinner and E-33 is still glaring at you and you avoid looking that direction. Cracks me up!

  6. Oh my! It sounds like that evening was filled with the unexpected; but you turned it into a wonderful slice…a piece of writing “charged” with detail. I loved it!

  7. I love your slices, always a wonderful glimpse into life at your house. What a wild evening! Our technology can drive us crazy…especially since we rely on it so much. Smart to put that info on the front of the manual. See you this week, can’t wait for time to talk, live and in person, although I do treasure these weekly chats too!

  8. And just when you thought a nice dinner and evening was ahead! I’ll never understand how or why some things happen. Last week my laptop key commands were not working. Then I found that if I pressed very hard they did work. By Saturday (I think) they’re back to normal. I am clueless! Thanks for the chuckle, & you know I would only chuckle now that all is ok (except for the phone). See you soon!

  9. Oh, my! Burning stuff is the worst! Glad you figured out the power issue! Maybe today you can cook a nice dinner for the hubby. Or maybe you can both have a night out! He He SEE YOU SOON! I’m so excited for All Write! Jennifer Sniadecki

Thanks for taking time to comment.

