A Moment Caught

Before I retired, Friday evening was my favorite part of the week. The weekend hours stretched like a slinky. So many options to fill those moments, but like a slinky, time snapped back and the routine of school filled the days.

Now that I am retired (but working part time in schools) Fridays don’t have that same magic. Instead the special time is mid-April into June. These days I savor just like a working-life Friday, but the joy of time lasts longer.

Here is the time I get to play with my crafts, read, and read some more. No guilt lingering in my mind that says you have work to finish. I stop by the library with my list of book titles that I culled from various posts and walk out with a stack to last me for a while.

I carry my  sweet tea with a touch of lemon to the patio. Pull the chair into the sunshine, prop my feet on the ottoman to become lost in the world of the book.

I hear it before I see it. The vibrating thrummmmmm hovers six inches from my face. The wings create a breeze, as the hummingbird scans my body looking for the nectar portal. I am as still as a marble statue, I relish the closeness of this contact. Moments later, it zoomed away searching for something with more nutritional value than my peach colored shirt. This moment caught in my mind, sadly not on my camera.

20 thoughts on “A Moment Caught

  1. I get where you’re coming from. For you it was Fridays, but now it’s this season. Now that I’m not in a school f/t, June has become a much more wondrous time for me since it isn’t filled w/report card writing!

  2. Love the image of you in the sunshine, lost in the world of book. So glad you have these extended Fridays ahead of you to play and read guilt free.

  3. “Stretched like a slinky”. Love this line! You set us up so well for the heart of your story. I was there with you, tea and books, comfy in the chair, and then enters the hummingbird. Love the way you told this story!

  4. Mandy Robek says:

    I love this line – The weekend hours stretched like a slinky. What a great hummingbird story and what a bummer you didn’t have a camera but then the moment wouldn’t be the same, probably.

  5. LOL, your peach-colored shirt didn’t cut it, huh? Cute! Wow, I’d love to sit out and drink sweet tea with you! But, I’m giving the ISTEP test this week! Arg! Hey! I cannot wait to meet you at All-Write in June! It’s going to be great!

  6. You have filled me with envy with these delightful words, “I carry my sweet tea with a touch of lemon to the patio. Pull the chair into the sunshine, prop my feet on the ottoman to become lost in the world of the book.” Wow! Beautiful.

  7. There is no better place to be lost than in a book. I love your close encounter with a hummingbird. I have seen them in our yard, but never that close.

  8. Hummingbirds are magical! You are so lucky to have them in your yard. I used to see them all the time when I lived in California, but sadly no longer here in the northeast. Being retired can be as blissful as you describe yours, and/or full of unexpected surprises. I am enjoying my renewed contact with the world since I overcame cancer, and am as busy as ever but doing only things I choose to do (aside from cooking, grocery shopping, housekeeping, etc.) I would love to sit in your garden and read with you while waiting for the hummingbird to show up! I, too, loved the slinky simile.
    https://barbarasut.wordpress.com/2015/05/05/old-neighborhood-new-friends/

  9. rosecappelli says:

    What a beautiful post! I was right there with you. Oh to get lost in a book- such joy! Still waiting for hummingbirds here.

  10. Judy C. says:

    Such tiny little critters and so hard to catch them on camera. I love when they come and hover and search for just the right nectar portal. Your slinky metaphor is great.

  11. I’ve only caught a few hummingbirds on film. They are amazing really. Sounds like a lovely way to spend your time – art and books. Since I’ve retired I’ve had much more time for both.

  12. Terje says:

    Maybe a moment in a memory is even better than one caught in a camera. You really had a blissful time. I wish I could see a real hummingbird.

  13. What a beautiful Slice. I loved your comparison to the Slinky, and I loved how the moment in time stopped as the hummingbird debated. The ending line was perfect, also.

    Sounds like relaxed and happy days. Enjoy.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

