Wherefore Art Thou?

IMG_1028
Last year a cold snap destroyed all the potential blossoms on my peach tree. Somehow four peaches managed to survive.
In the fall we had the tree pruned. The arborist promised this action would create a plethora of peaches, plus it would allow the tree to develop to its greatest potential.
I guess this means one peach. How sad!

I guess this means one peach. How sad!

Eagerly I waited for the tree to burst into bloom. Then the leaf buds appeared, followed by leaves. Concerned, I studied my tree. A single blossom was all that I could find. My heart sank. Another year, no peaches in my yard.

 

These are the blossoms I expected. This is from March 2012

These are the blossoms I expected. This is from March 2012

Baby robins are now feathered, so soon they will be on their own and the tree will be removed.

Update on bird status: Baby robins are now feathered, so soon they will be on their own and the tree will be removed.

16 thoughts on “Wherefore Art Thou?

  1. We had a peach tree in our front yard. It left inedible-rotten-peach-like balls all over the ground beneath that we would have to pick up or the flies would come. I say let the farmers deal with stubborn peach trees and icky flies. We finally cut ours down. I was tired of being disappointed spring after spring. I’m sorry for your disappointment. At least you live close to good farmer’s markets!

  2. Do you think the peach blossoms are just late? Oh my, I’ll have to ask my daughter how their tree is doing. We are behind you in the spring blooming. Love the pictures, no matter what.

  3. Judy C. says:

    So sorry that the peach tree is peachless, but there is always the farmer’s market. Hopefully, next year. Glad to hear that Momma robin and babies are doing okay.

  4. Sorry to hear that your peach tree didn’t rejuvenate. I love watching the growth of baby birds. We have a robin’s nest on one of our patio supports. Mama bird sits patiently waiting for her babies. I check on their process too. Can’t wait to see little heads and open mouths waiting for food.

  5. Ah the sweet taste of sunshine so beautifully contained in a fresh picked peach! This post reminds me of the peach, apricot and plum trees we had growing up. I look back on that and remember how it just seemed the way things were in the world. I took it for granted. Your lonely blossom is so sad. Perhaps more later? Maybe a late bloomer??

    Thanks for the update on the robins. What a camera you have!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

