Blog Post 365

I saw the numbers creeping up, up, up. Then it hit me 365 equals one year but this journey has been in progress for over five years. I began 1-11-11, I found myself in a motel waiting out a snow day when I decided to jump into the world of blogging as a participant rather than a lurker. It’s a decision I’ve never regretted. My world is so much richer because of the friends I’ve made through words first.

I’ve just revisited my first post, my first sentences written for public viewing: “Today I jump into the blogging world. It’s a little scary, considering I don’t know what I am doing.” Three hundred sixty-five posts later I still think it’s a little scary to tell my story.

Many times I don’t know what I am doing when it comes to navigating the behind the scenes of the blog.Technical issues arise and the language is foreign. I would love to change fonts, but I guess this is not an option when you use a free format. I place words carefully in my draft, but on the preview they move to a new location. Sometimes I want the words to wrap around my picture, but they don’t want to bend to my will. And as to figuring out the automatic posting time schedule, I throw my hands into the air and admit defeat.

Three hundred sixty-five sent me to Steve Jenkins’s book Just a Second. just a secHere are some facts of what occurs in 365 days:

  • Mount Everest rises half an inch.
  • The moon moves 1.5 inches farther away from the Earth.
  • Sea floor spreading move the U.S. one inch away from Europe.
  • Humans cut down 4,000,000,000 trees.

I also Googled 365 and discovered a blog started in 2013 called 365 things in 365 days. A couple decided to take on the challenge of completing 365 things they had never done in 365 days. What an interesting concept and journey they took on with gusto. In their look back, they describe their learning:

  • Life moves fast. Take a risk.
  • Failure is healthy.
  • It takes a tribe to accomplish big goals.
  • If you put goodness out there, goodness will come back.

These statements can also be true of my journey in the slice of life world. So here’s to the beginning (tomorrow) of my second 365 days of blogging my slices of life. I hope you will join me as I live this ordinary, but extraordinary life as I search for the right words, and sometimes pictures, to tell my story.

 

33 thoughts on “Blog Post 365

  1. Hooray for you! 365 posts is quite a milestone. I love your exploration of the number 365, too. It does “take a tribe to accomplish big goals,” doesn’t it? I feel like this “tribe” of writers, teachers, and learners has helped me find the courage I need to “tell my story.” So glad to be part of this adventure with you.

  2. Congratulations Elsie!! I know that SO many of us here in the blogging community are ever-so grateful that 365 posts ago, you decided to pick up a *keyboard.* I loved how you included all the struggles of blogging– if it makes you feel any better, an 18 year old (who supposedly lives in the age of technology) is also struggling– as well as your facts about the year. Who knew that we were slowly shifting away from Europe…?! Can’t wait to be here for your next 365 🙂

  3. Lynn says:

    Frost of all congratulations Elsie! And second I’m so glad to hear you have some of the same issues I have at times. I sometimes think it’s because I’m using an iPad, since my computer died. I was still very impressed by the collage picture you has on your slice the other day!

  4. One whole year of blogs. I love how you jumped in when you felt you didn’t really know what you were doing. I suspect most of us felt that way. I am ever so thankful for that day because of it we have had the chance to become friends. I marvel at that wondrous thing because sometimes I don’t remember NOT knowing you! 🙂 You are creative and generous. My life is better because I know you! Happy Blog Birthday!

  5. Jaana says:

    Congratulations! I am so glad I have been able to share a small part of that journey. Your photographs are memorable as are your wonderful comments that you leave on our blogs! Thank you for taking the first step!

  6. Wish we could work out those posting issues so you would have even more fun and more posts! I love visiting here. It’s been a fun four years! I started just two weeks ahead of you on 12/27/10 – so we’ve been sharing lives online for quite some time!

  7. Using WordPress also I can so relate to it having a mind of its own when it comes to placement. I numbered things 10 -1 but the items were posted 10 – 19. I place pictures side by side, but they get published in a single column. If you ever get things figured out, please let me know.

  8. This post is a gem, a conversation I can hear from you and one I want to linger in. Hasn’t blogging been a wonderful journey of learning? I love your bullet points. I a so glad we both risked blogging and meeting.

  9. Congratulations on 365! You inspired me to check and see how many I have–816-!! I think I have grown so much as a writer through those posts, and I’m so glad to have found your voice, your story, and your slices of life.

  10. rosecappelli says:

    You are an inspiration, Elsie. Truly. If I had not spent time with you at WTL, I think once again I would have decided not to join the challenge. Thanks for giving me the gentle nudge I needed, and congratulations on your milestone!

  11. Quite a celebration! My first post? About a month after you … 2/8/11. Wow! Such an amazing journey with words and pictures. You are such an inspiration in your writing and your comments. I love how you tied this reflection slice together! Your connections to the Jenkins books and what the 365 day challenge couple learned. Just beautiful.

  12. Wow….365….great accomplishment…but even more is that you have been an inspiration to so many and so many of us read your blog everyday for that bit of wit, wisdom, insight and love that you give to everyone. Here’s to another 365 and then another and another…..

  13. What an accomplishment! I love that you started blogging on 1-11-11. I fight over formatting issues, too! Lately, for some reason, I can’t get the text to center. What’s wrong with that button? I am jealous that you’ve figured out categories. That’s on my “want to figure out someday” list. But I was hoping you had a category for spiders since that was one of my all-time favorite posts. I’m only one of hundreds that you’ve encouraged on this journey, but I thank you for your kind words when I started four years ago. Here’s to many more years of blogging and sharing!

  14. Terje says:

    Congratulations. I have enjoyed being on this journey together with you, reading your stories and receiving your comments. Its quite an experience. I like how you celebrate this special number with facts and life lessons. Happy writing!

  15. Elsie, You have been an inspiration to me, a first-time blogger. I look for your post every day for inspiration and ideas and you never let me down. It was good to read about your continuing challenges with technology, I am still struggling with just getting my words posted, never mind pictures with text wrapped around, etc. But you give me hope that I can get there one day myself. One whole year of blogging…now that’s something to celebrate, and even more so because you are so good at it!
    https://barbarasut.wordpress.com/2015/03/18/in-the-year-of-the-flood-and-other-pearls-of-wisdom/

  16. Thank you for an inspiring (once again!) post, Elsie. I love your life snippets, your photos and revelations, small wonders and wonderful shadings. Thank you for putting yourself out there. I think you were the first blog I read last month when I was checking out TwoWritingTeachers. I’d heard of the Slice of Life but was unsure what exactly it involved. I think the death of my stepdad spurred me on to live my life, not just do my life. I love checking in on how you are living your life. Glad you decided to try writing! Thanks!

  17. This is a huge milestone! Congratulations! I get so frustrated with spacing and indenting and inserting pictures, too. In the end, though, we know that our words really matter the most, right?

  18. Wow 365! That’s incredible. You should be proud and yes, your slice here totally explains your blog moniker that I’ve wondered about. You are past “trying”. You are writing. Perhaps an update for post 366 called “Elsie Writes”. 😉

    I know exactly what you mean with the behind the scenes thing. I am a bit obsessive on the visual front being a complete reflection of what’s in my head, which I’m sure you’ve seen from my blog, so I studied it for an entire summer. No joke. I built a back-up blog that is private and mirrored the one I have now for when I wanted to try new features but didn’t want to gunk up my page and confuse my readers. I swear if we lived close, I’d teach you whatever you’d want to know. Like all the stuff up there, totally do-able but takes practice before its a no-brainer. If you ever do want an easy answer for like one thing at a time send me an email, I’d be happy to help. I’m no expert but I’ve figured maybe 1/7th of how free (mine is free too!) can be personalized.

    Butlerbin2013@gmail.com

  19. How wonderful, Elsie. I certainly am so happy you “jumped in”. Love these connections you made, to Jenkins book & to that couple’s blog. Happy posting. Best wishes for many more!

  20. Judy C. says:

    Congrats, Elsie. Quite an accomplishment and I have enjoyed so many of those slices and getting to know you face to face. Looking forward to many more words shared.

  21. Tam says:

    Congratulations, Elsie! I started in 2011, too. You are a true blogger! I think the Steve Jenkins book would be a winner for grandkids! Thanks. Blog on, my writing friend.

  22. Congratulations! You have expressed how I suspect all bloggers feel with those pesky technical issues and constraints. But also how all writers feel. I think it never gets less scary to put our words out there. I love how you explored 365, a year of posts and what happens in a year, our world slowly inching out. Here’s to another year! Glad to be with you.

  23. Joyce says:

    Congratulations on your blog accomplishments. Looking forward to more pictures and stories….as a lurker. It has been such a fun, learning experience. Thank you!

  24. margaretsmn says:

    Congratulations on a year of posts. It fits with your blog title, “Elsie tries writing.” I’ve always wondered about that. I see that you are trying writing, but I also see that you are a writer. You’ve got this.

  25. What a fascinating post. I started blogging in 2011 as well. I adore Steve Jenkins books. You’re ability to tie all of these things together tells me we should be friends. Life moves fast, take risks–this is my motto. I think I might share some of this with my Second Graders today. They would love to talk about what can happen in 365 days. Thanks!

  26. I love how you describe the complications of blogging sometimes! That spacing thing frustrates me at times!!! And why won’t the pictures just go where you want them to go??? But you’re right about how much you get out of it. Congratulations on a year’s worth of blog posts, Elsie!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

