Staying Connected

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

My phone dings. A text message waits. I glance at the message. I smile.

There is one message that always brings a smile to my face. I bet you can guess what the message might be. Here’s an example:

Clara is growing up fast, already at 9 pounds!

Clara is growing up fast, already at 9 pounds!

Now didn’t you smile too? Let me help you smile a bit longer.

Daddy said it's hard being a baby during the Super Bowl.

Daddy said it’s hard being a baby during the Super Bowl.

Yeah! Football is over!

Yeah! Football is over!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Being 1,600 miles away from my son and his family is difficult, but thankfully technology makes it easier to stay connected.

 

20 thoughts on “Staying Connected

  1. For all the gripes about technology taking over, I would say that there are huge perks to applaud, & these sweet connections with grandchildren is one of them. What a dear, Elsie! I’m so happy for you!

  2. So cute! Technology is really wonderful for staying connected! My dad just spent a couple weeks in China for business, and he was texting us pictures the whole time of the amazing sights he saw — it made the time go by so much faster and helped us keep feeling close to him!

  3. Lynn says:

    Adorable!!! What is it about kids that warm our hearts and make all the wrong in the world seem not so bad?! Congrats on a beautiful granddaughter!

  4. elsie, thanks for the smiles. She is beautiful. There are definitely tings about technology that are great. This kind of instant sharing has to be one of them.

  5. Sooooooooooo sweet.

    We live by my family in New Brunswick (Canada)…My husband is from Michigan…We lost his mom a few years ago. We miss her so much….Something I loved was that even with all the miles between us, our kids felt as close to Grandma D as my parents. The miles didn’t change the special bond at all.

  6. Clara…such a beautiful name and she seems to be just the right ding to hear from. Em is so great at keeping us in the picture loop too…next week away to Ecuador. I can’t wait. Thanks for sharing sweet Clara this morning LC! xo

Thanks for taking time to comment.

