Waiting Is Not Easy

Mo Willems has the perfect title for my life right now.

waitingI feel a lot like Gerald. In this book, as he continually exclaims waiting is too hard. I feel the same way, waiting for a baby to make her appearance.

Every day I wake up and think, maybe this is the day Clara will be born. Then as I go to bed at night, I sigh and think, maybe tomorrow will be the day.

Waiting is hard, especially when you are 1,500 miles away. I know that each day brings us one day closer to this birthday. I move through the motions of daily life in anticipation of a sudden departure. My refrigerator is not stocked. Food preparation is whatever we have on hand or in the pantry. My bag is packed, the gifts are collected and ready to be loaded in the car. All I need is a phone call.

I’m a bit worried that the weather will prevent us from leaving to meet this granddaughter. My husband has been watching the route we take, it doesn’t look like pleasant weather in a few days. So we wait, and wait, and wait a bit longer.

I agree with Gerald, waiting is HARD!

21 thoughts on “Waiting Is Not Easy

  1. Tiffy says:

    You are going to be such an amazing grandma:0) Sweet Clara will love you reading to her and the treats you bake for her! Be careful and I’ll be waiting for the call!

  2. New life brings such a special kind of impatient excitement. You have captured that and made such a great connection. Perhaps inside the cover of the book you can inscribe s special note for your new granddaughter to read one day to show her how she was in your heart before she was born. I wish I could be like Piggy with the right words and actions to help you through your struggle.

  3. Thanks for the relevant book review. I’m with you on waiting. We’ll be waiting for your news, too. Have you missed a Tuesday Slice of Life post in all these years??? Happy New Year, Elsie!

  4. I don’t know this Gerald and Piggy book, but need to go hunt it down tomorrow! I totally agree with you and Mo- Waiting is hard work! Here’s hoping that Ms. Clara will make a grand entrance very, very soon! Safe travels to you and your husband!

  5. Waiting IS hard, but it makes those big moments even more wonderful when they do finally arrive! Here’s hoping for the best — I’ve missed you in my blogging hiatus! (I’m actually waiting for something exciting too… will blog about my wait in the coming months!)

  6. Kathy Douglas says:

    What a perfect way to depict your emotions…through a book! What stories you will have to tell her about the waiting for her to arrive. Congratulations and keep us posted!!!

  7. Oh so hard!! And, so excited for you! And, can’t wait for your waiting to be over.

    I also want to thank you for 2014 ! I am so enriched by you! Happy New Year!
    Julieanne

  8. Waiting is the hardest thing we have to do. On the other hand, anticipation is exciting. Early congratulations on your new granddaughter. May she be spoiled with love…as I am sure she will be. Happy New Year, elsie.

  9. amandavillagomez says:

    I love how you linked this to Mo Willems book. I think it is one more reminder that we can connect to children’s books as adults and we can trace certain themes through different phases in life.

    Congratulations on your new granddaughter. I am very excited for you. Maybe today will be the day, or maybe your granddaughter wants to be the first baby born in her hospital for 2015.

  10. Congratulations on a new baby to be!! Waiting is hard – but, wow, you are prepared! I love everything by Mo Willems and this new title is delightful. Would be a great gift for so many situations!! Happy New Year!

  11. I love your connection with this book. Happy Birthday…whenever it comes…to baby Clara! Praying for safe and easy delivery of baby and grandparents. Can’t to hear more.

    I also want to thank you for a year of connecting. You have been a delight to read, know and meet and I look forward to more in 2015!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

