Christmas Cookie

Yesterday was the perfect day to begin my holiday baking. The temperatures were frigid. The streets were glazed with ice.  There was no good reason to be out and about. The scent of cookies baking would be perfect.

Every year, I take five simple ingredients, sugar, flour, butter, eggs, and vanilla, and blend them together. The result is a Sandbakkel, a Norwegian sugar cookie. This cookie is part of my heritage. All generations of my family have made this cookie.  It is time consuming, but it is not Christmas until they are made.

Once the ingredients are measured and stirred together, you have to chill the dough to make it easier to press into the fluted tins.

These tins are waiting for the dough to be pressed in.

These tins are waiting for the dough to be pressed in.

Scoop out dough, use your thumbs to press it into the tin. You must be careful to press it evenly and not too thick.

The dough is pressed into the tins, ready to bake.

The dough is pressed into the tins, ready to bake.

Bake for fifteen minutes, then let them cool.

Golden cookies are cooling on the counter.

Golden cookies are cooling on the counter.

Once they are cooled you can lightly squeeze the tin and they should pop out. Sometimes the dough was too thin and the cookie shatters as if falls out.

Oh no! It broke, guess I'd better eat the evidence.

Oh no! It broke, guess I’d better eat the evidence.

Now the Christmas season can begin, the Sandbakkels are made.

Perfectly golden, buttery, and crisp, now all I need is a cup of coffee.

Perfectly golden, buttery, and crisp, now all I need is a cup of coffee.

21 thoughts on “Christmas Cookie

  1. Tiffy says:

    These are beautiful cookies! Simply beautiful! (I have a feeling there is nothing simple about this!) I want to come for lessons next year!

  2. Tam says:

    Enjoyed your traditional and festive post. Food especially interests me! Our family’s tradition was making sugar cookies and decorating with icing. Continue the joy of the season with your posts.

  3. Yum, these sound and look delicious. I always think how wonderful it must be to bake for Christmas with snow falling or all rugged up and the warmth of the oven in the kitchen. Here, it’s all fans and sweat for Christmas baking. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your family recipe.

  4. I have some tins like these, & have never used them, Elsie. I think a friend gave them to me. They look so yummy. And your description of the icy day and baking inside makes me yearn for such a day. Thanks for sharing…

  5. Oh, how pretty and yummy looking! My students and I talked today about what things leave a legacy, and recipes/food came up. Your cookies are surely treasured in your circle of family and friends!

  6. Phillip van someren says:

    Oh! Sure! The Scandinavian!!@ how about your Dutch whatever? !? Grandma vans almond pastry? ?? There’s a little challenge with the puff pastry. Give it a shot!

  7. I have never heard of this kind of cookie. They sound delicious. For us Christmas cookies always include soft Michigan rocks, sugar cookies, and bird’s nest cookies. I think I’m getting hungry…and I just finished dinner.

  8. Kathy Douglas says:

    What a lovely post. Never heard of these cookies, but I want to scoop a few off your page. What a terrific tradition!

  9. Joyce says:

    I think it very special you continue the family tradition. Wondering if your tins are passed down? What a lovely tradition for the little girls in your life……..along w/the special story as only you can tell them.

  10. I’ll make the coffee if you promise me some of hose delicious cookies! I bought a collection of those little tins at a tag sale once, now I know what to do with them!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

