Invasion!

At last, my husband and I made it to southern California to spend a few days with our son and his family and to celebrate my birthday. So far our trip had been great! We were looking forward to a few more fun days before heading back to the Midwest. After dinner we made plans to visit the aquarium on Tuesday with our daughter-in-law and granddaughter. As we pulled into the hotel parking lot, we gave a sigh of satisfaction. Life was good, but that all changed in the morning.

My husband is an early riser, so he usually gets to the breakfast area ahead of me. I wandered down and normally he is finishing up his breakfast, but he was no where in sight. I wandered over to the coffee, poured a cup, wondering where he was. As I was scooping up some eggs he came into the lobby.

One look at his face told me something had happened and it was not good. “The car is crawling with ants!” he tells me. “The front of the car is covered and they are inside too!” He had gone out to clean the windshield and discovered the invasion when they began crawling up his legs.

He pulled the car around to the covered area right outside the entrance. We emptied the trunk and car of all items. All the while wiping away, knocking off, smashing ants, teeny, tiny, minuscule light brown ants. We opened the hood and they ran for their life. He took the car to a car wash, but once he got back they began crawling out of every crevice.

We eventually pulled the car around back and the hotel had the maintenance man use the hose to spray the engine area because that seemed to be where most of them were. He sprayed the radiator and the water looked like it someone had poured five pounds of pepper in the water. As the water flowed away the ants pulled themselves out and scurried away.

There would be no aquarium this day. My husband stayed to battle the ants while the “girls” went to see The Giver. I think I got the better end of that deal.

What we learned was ants LOVE dead bugs. Our radiator and front of the car were full of tasty treats for ants. The sprinklers at the hotel turned on, which brought the ants out of the ground. Once up from their dens, they discovered a smorgasbord had been delivered to their doorstep. Eventually their numbers dropped off. Of course that could be due to the can of Raid we purchased.

Needless to say, we did not park near landscaping for the rest of the visit.

 

20 thoughts on “Invasion!

  1. Leigh Anne says:

    Although this is completely disgusting, it sounds like a great movie! I did not know they like to eat dead bugs…always learning something from you, Elsie! I can’t believe you didn’t have a picture! 🙂

  2. Lynn says:

    OMG!!! That sounds horrible! I can’t even imagine finding an army of ants all over my car! I’m not so sure my hubby would have let me leave him to defend the ants while I leave for the movies…yes you did get the better deal! He deserves a big hug for this one 🙂

  3. Eeeekkk, how frustrating for you. An invasion was a perfect description. I could just imagine how it looked. Your description was wonderful and then I was picturing you swatting the random little survivors all the way home. 🙂

  4. What an experience! I learned something important today…why it is important to keep the car free of dead bugs (other than it looks gross). I felt like I was there, watching the whole thing. Thank goodness these were not fire ants or those army ants!

  5. Judy C. says:

    I hate when the ants get into the house, but I can only imagine how terrible is was to get rid of them from your car. I have never heard of this happening. Things to remember when traveling! Glad you got to enjoy the rest of the day.

  6. Your title pulled me in! I wish I had taken a moment or two to predict what kind of invasion before I started reading. I agree, watching a movie instead of battling ants was definitely the better end of the deal. Now you’ve triggered two of my own stories for future slices. Moths and sprinklers. This is what used to happen in my classroom when we shared our writing. So many stories, never enough time!

  7. Tam says:

    Oh, my, nature seems to follow you everywhere, Elsie!!! I think the ants found out you were in town. I’ll remember this when we go to San Diego next time! Unbelievable.

  8. Joyce says:

    What a change of plans! Have learned something today….ants can be a menace in more than one way. Sure glad you enjoyed the day in spite of the invasion.

  9. Whoa! What adventures California held. Ants have been invading our house, we think it’s the heat. Hate ants! But in the car?! Didn’t think that could happen. Weather, ants! Eek! I can just imagine the two of you eyes in this mess. Great slice Elsie!!
    Julieanne

  10. UGH! But good thing you solved the ant problem. Always learning something new, right? Happy Birthday to YOU!!!!! And now for the ride home…what new adventures await?

Thanks for taking time to comment.

