I Find a Celebration

Hindsight always allows us time for reflection. Many events have occurred these past few months that appeared to be negatives, but now with the events that taken place in the last few days I am grateful.

We could have been on a cruise to Alaska with our neighbor, celebrating a successful kidney transplant, but her doctor told her no cruises for a year. So I was home.

We could have been on a road trip exploring areas by bike, but I fell and broke a metatarsal in my foot, which confined us to staying close to home. So I was home.

I did celebrate when the doctor announced the boot could be removed on Wednesday morning. I would have done a happy dance but there shall be no running or jumping for another month (doctor’s orders).

So because of the previous events I was home when I received the phone call telling me my father had just been taken to the hospital in an ambulance. I celebrate that I was near. I celebrate all the paramedics, doctors, and nurses who cared for my father in the final hours of his life. I celebrate that he is now with his parents and siblings. I celebrate that he no longer has any pain. I celebrate I had the opportunity to say good-bye to my father.

Sometimes celebrations can leave a hole in your heart, but it is still worthy of celebrating.

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “I Find a Celebration

  1. Tam says:

    Sorry for you loss, Elsie. You’re one person who can always find the small blessings of life. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  2. What a beautiful tribute to your father! Sometimes, we have to celebrate the pain in our lives in order to get through it. Thank you for sharing such a personal celebration!

  3. I’ve been trying to find the words to say. I’m sorry for you father’s passing, and I’m glad you were near. I’m grateful for this gift you’ve given with your words and for the power of celebrating through the hard. I’m thinking of you, my friend.
    Ruth

  4. Ramona says:

    Elsie, so sad to learn of your father’s death, but I’m glad you were able to be with him. Hugs and prayers for you during this time.

  5. I am so sorry to hear of your loss but so happy you were there at that moment – as you needed to be. I will keep you and your family in my prayers as you pull together for each other celebrating your father’s life and that almost healed broken foot – a blessing – disguised in a boot.

  6. Leave to you to keep celebrating. After just one bump in the road, I’m with you-celebrating what you have and today the sun is shining and it might stay that way. So I celebrate today with you friend.

  7. My heart aches for you in a way that is so profoundly familiar. I’m so sorry for your loss. How very brave of you to find celebrations in times of sorrow.

  8. Oh Elsie, you shared your love in a sweet way that shows your clove for your fair. I am so sorry for your loss but am happy you are able to celebrate the memories. Hugs, my friend.

  9. Elsie, I am so sorry to hear about your dad. There is a reason for everything, and I am so glad that you WERE home so you could be with him. Through death, we celebrate much life. Prayers for you.

  10. Judy C. says:

    Elsie, my prayers are with you and your family as you mourn the loss of your father. Things do happen for a reason. I’m glad that you got the opportunity to say good-bye and to celebrate his life. Hugs to you.

  11. Oh Elsie, my heart goes out to you. I am sorry for this, your father’s passing. And I am glad you were near. Things do happen that are blessings don’t they? Hugs to you & your loved ones.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

