Books to Celebrate

Scholastic Book Fairs set up at the fairgrounds this week. Most books were 50% off. This is a dangerous combination for me. How can I resist? Since I cannot drive with my air cast on, my dear husband transported me to this nirvana.

I browsed the tables and the metal shelves casting a discriminating eye over each title. Occasionally I stopped and thumbed through a book. Sometimes I stopped and read it from front to back. As I am browsing I search for favorite authors. Slowly the stack grows.

Before checking out, ponder each book I’ve selected. How will I use this? Do I have one similar? Or do I just HAVE to get this title?   Two new finds are pictured below.

books

Drawing From Memory by Allen Say is his story. It is an interesting picture book format of an autobiography. Did you know that he lived in an apartment alone when he was twelve? This was so he could attend an art school. I can’t imagine what it would be like.

What’s Your Favorite Animal? by Eric Carle and Friends is just what is needed to teach opinion writing. Fourteen illustrators have drawn and written about their favorite animal. Does it surprise you to learn that Jon Klassen’s favorite animal is a duck? There are some interesting choices, which opens the door for students to go beyond cats and dogs.

I also celebrate Ruth putting up the sign-up sheet for the Wednesday evening dinner before All Write. I am so looking forward to meeting up with all the friends I made last year and more new friends from the blogosphere. Can’t wait!

8 thoughts on “Books to Celebrate

  1. Book sales do make my heart race and I make emotional decisions. Drawing from Memory sounds so intriguing; the title alone makes me want to read it!

  2. Ramona says:

    I’ve read Drawing from Memory, but not the Eric Carle. There’s nothing quite as fun as shopping for books! I wish I could join everyone for All Write, but I’m looking forward to some blog posts about dinner and the conference.

  3. I went to my first Scholastic Warehouse sale in December and it was all 50% off too. There is just something about that number that makes me have to buy it! I am so excited about All Write! I am waiting to hear back from the colleague who is going with me before I sign up for the dinner. Can’t wait!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

