Uninvited Guest

You dropped in
                 uninvited

Your movement
                 caught my eye

I moved away,
                 you followed,

There was no escape
                  for either one of us

My heart was pounding,
                  was yours?

It was a soft landing,
                  on my iPad

You froze,
                  I watched

Finally, 
you explored 
the glassy world 
under your feet,
                   Angry Birds held 
                   no interest for you

Your pedipalps waved wildly,
                  but all they found was air

Your visit came to an end
with a gust of air ... 

                     from me.
My uninvited guest, I think it was looking for Little Miss Muffet and a tuffet. Perhaps it will find her another day.

My uninvited guest, I think it was looking for Little Miss Muffet and a tuffet. Perhaps it will find her another day.

19 thoughts on “Uninvited Guest

  1. Ooh, what a fun poem! You drew me in and made me curious: my brain was working hard as I tried to guess what the guest was! At first I thought it was a leaf or flower, then I knew it was some kind of insect, and then… YIKES!!! I would have screamed and possibly broken my iPad!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Oh, you are way too nice. I would have dropped that iPad so fast and then screamed! I can’t believe you held on long enough to get a picture! Then again, knowing your foot situation, you weren’t going to be jumping up with any kind of quickness! πŸ™‚ “My heart was pounding, was yours?” Great slice!

  3. Jaana says:

    I don’t think that this is the first uninvited guest that you have written about….life at your neck of the woods is pretty exciting!

  4. Judy C. says:

    How clever you are (once again). That spider was very lucky it didn’t land near me. It would have been a goner (and the I-pad too)!

  5. This made me smile….and I am so glad you did not smash your visitor…but blew the little guy on to his next adventure…hopefully not to be eaten by a bird…but such is life.

  6. Such a unique perspective on what many would deem an insignificant moment in their day, Elsie! I actually love spiders and insects and, pretty much every living creature, so your poem is especially dear to me πŸ™‚ I love the organization of your poem, as well!

  7. It is that time of year when these uninvited guests literally drop in. It always makes me wonder where they came from. Ned is fascinated by them. He can watch them for hours. Of course, he wouldn’t think of chasing them away.

  8. Ramona says:

    Given my abhorrence for spiders, that spider is lucky it landed on your iPad and not mine. I’m not sure what would have happened to the spider or the iPad. How lovely that you created this poem!

  9. Tam says:

    Love the form it took–just like the spider gliding along your screen. You’re going outside the box with your writing, and it’s lovely.

  10. shaggerspicchu says:

    haha this is a really cute poem. I like how you broke up the lines in this piece.

    Such a simple moment of your day turned into a lovely little poem!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

