Celebrating Today

What can you celebrate? Share your celebrations with the world at Ruth Ayres Writes.

What can you celebrate? Share your celebrations with the world at Ruth Ayres Writes.

You never appreciate something until it is gone. Then when it is returned, you celebrate.

Some of you know that last week I broke a bone in my foot (here is the story). I was told not to walk or put any weight on my right foot. Crutches became my mode of travel. Movement from one location to another became a challenge.  Monday I visited the doctor and he returned my mobility, sort of. I can walk, I can stand on my two feet, when I have the boot on.

I celebrate the science that has developed this air cast that allows me to move about while my bone mends. But this is not my only celebration.

I also celebrate the stores that have motorized carts for those of us who have walking issues. My husband had some doubts of my driving ability, but I am happy to report I have not run into anything, yet.

The greatest celebration is my husband, who has attended to my every need since the accident. Mike has:

  • gone grocery shopping (not his favorite activity)
  • cooked dinners (he hates cooking)
  • made coffee and delivered it to me on the couch
  • laid out my clothes for easy access
  • set up the shower with a lawn chair
  • wrapped ice packs on my foot
  • fetched library books
  • made sure I had everything I needed within arm’s reach

These are only a few of the tasks he has done for me. During this time he also maintained our house, laundry, and yard work. It was not just our yard he mowed, but also our neighbor’s yard, because they were away for a long weekend. The grass grew at an incredible rate. He had to mow every other day to keep control.

I celebrate Mike, he has been there for me for thirty-seven years and I know he will be there forever.

14 thoughts on “Celebrating Today

  1. Tam says:

    Okay, now I’m updated with your ditch story, Elsie. Glad you made it home okay. Yes, those air boots are great for healing. I broke my ankle 8 years ago. I can truly appreciate people now on crutches/wheelchairs/air boots. You have a great husband, too.

  2. Missed reading on Tuesday, missed the news about your foot. So sorry. You are really lucky to have Mike. I hope that your foot heals fast.

  3. Yay for Mike! That’s wonderful that he has stepped up and taken over while you’re recovering. You are blessed. I hope you heal quickly (I’m sure he does, too – ha).

  4. shaggerspicchu says:

    I am so glad your foot is mending and that your mobility is returning. So nice to hear about the love in your household!

  5. I’m so glad you are getting around a little more. Your husband sounds very sweet. It’s nice to have someone help out when you can’t get around and are limited in what you can do.

    I laughed at the idea of a lawn chair in the shower- very clever.

    Hope you keep recovering quickly.

  6. Ramona says:

    Thank goodness for boots, motorized carts, and helpful husbands. Glad he’s there for you this week and always.

  7. So glad to hear you are moving about. I was (supposed to be) on crutches once. I couldn’t do it! You are so blessed to have your husband to take care of you…but I am sure you don’t need me to tell you that! “Through sickness and in health!” Here’s to speedy healing and wonderful husbands.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

