Mail and Email to Celebrate

A quote on Linda Baie’s blog, Teacher Dance, really spoke to me today. “There are exactly as many celebration in life as we choose to celebrate.” Robert Brault. I think Ruth understands this and lives this daily. She allows us to live it too. Thank you Ruth, celebrations are joyful.

This week email had me doing a happy dance. The first came from my office. It announced that I will have the opportunity to learn from Laura Robb for two days this summer. Ten of us will be working with her from her book, Unlocking Complex Text (which comes out June 2) and another book related to vocabulary that won’t be out in time for our meeting. The publisher is sending us galley proofs to use during the training, then we will get it when it is published. How cool is that?

The other email was from Kim, of Learning Tour Writing Stop. She has made reservations to fly into Springfield so we can have a road trip to Warsaw, Indiana for the All Write conference. She will then get to spend a few days hanging out with me after the conference before flying back to California. I don’t want to wish my life away, but I can’t wait until she comes and we get to hang out/learn in Indiana.

Then the snail mail brought me two packages this week. Through the March Slice of Life writing challenge, I won a book of my choice from both Stenhouse and Heinemann. This week they both arrived. I now have several professional books to read during this summer.

Life is sweet*, but reflecting on the celebrations each week just brings it home.

*my one little word for this year
13 thoughts on “Mail and Email to Celebrate

  1. The best thing about these celebrations is that they hold promise of future reasons to celebrate. It is like you get to celebrate them all twice–once in the discovery and again the moment they unfold. So cool. So very, very cool!

  2. I am so hoping to go to All Write this summer. I’ve been wanting to go for several years. I’m going to have to save the quote from Linda’s blog. It’s so very true. All of this PD sounds like such great opportunities. Enjoy every minute!

  3. From an outsider’s perspective it may be strange to celebrate PD opportunities on Saturday morning. From a teacher’s perspective it makes sense, and I am celebrating with you.

  4. That’s very cool, Elsie. Nothing gets me going like targeted professional development and books that I can right away use too! I hope you’ll continue to share about All Write and both books above. Share some of your goods! That would be sweet 🙂

  5. Ramona says:

    Can’t wait to hear about your time with Laura Robb. Our summer is still so far away – we’re in school until June 19th. I do love planning ahead for summer reading!

  6. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    I love that you are already excited about your summer reading and learning! However, I of course want to know what books you selected to read! Do tell!

  7. Jaana says:

    I am sad I won’t be able to come to All Write (overseas visitors), but so glad that you will get to go and have fun with friends. I am sure I will hear about the gathering via tweets and blogs! I got my Heinemann book this week as well. Summer reading is already planned!

  8. So happy that you liked the quote, Elsie. It works for us on these Saturdays, doesn’t it? And I think you did have a fabulous week of things to celebrate. Can’t wait to see you and meet Kim in Indiana!

  9. Yeah! Especially happy the you are coming to All Write! I was one of the original teachers in this project. You will love it!!! This is my group, so I am proud of what they do. Congratulations!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

