Bad News Turns to Good News

A few weeks ago my husband and I decided to replace our kitchen sink and faucet. This sink was ten years old, it was chipped and scratched, the faucet was wobbly (tightening did not help). Plus a little updating was due. After talking with the salesman at the store, we purchased a black composite granite sink and a new faucet.

Now we need someone to install our new items. Unfortunately the plumber is busy and we will need to wait three weeks. We are patient, so we wait.

The day dawned for the new sink installation. I am in St. Louis to deliver my father-in-law to the airport when my phone rings. I hear, “The sink doesn’t fit into our opening.” While my husband is relaying this message, I am trying to navigate the correct lane entering the airport and understand what this means. My husband continues, “However, the plumber can grind off the clips and make it fit.” That’s good news, I think, but then it gets even better. “He won’t be able to finish the installation until Friday.”

This conversation occurred on a Tuesday. There is no running water in the kitchen for at least three days? Hmmm, how will this work? I guess we will have to eat out for the next few days. If I hadn’t been driving, I’d have done a happy dance.

Yes, it was a bit inconvenient not to have running water in the kitchen available 24/7, but a few steps away there was a bathroom. I could still make coffee in the morning, I just stepped outside to pour the final drops in the yard.

Friday came and the new sink was installed. I tried to convince the plumber and my husband that the caulking would need at least forty-eight hours to cure. It only required four hours (according to the plumber, but I was willing to wait and make sure it was totally dried). šŸ˜¦

I am back preparing dinner. However, another issue has cropped up with the new faucet. The previous faucet’s lever was in the center. The new faucet’s lever is on the right. I am left handed. I must retrain myself on how to turn on the water. (And another first world problem surfaced.)

Now my husband wants to redo the finish on our kitchen cabinets. I’m thinking that cooking is not an option during this period. šŸ™‚

The new sink and faucet installed!

The new sink and faucet installed!

21 thoughts on “Bad News Turns to Good News

  1. Tam says:

    Impressive sink and counter. Sometimes I just plan to read only the first line of your posts, but once I start, I have to finish the whole thing! You writing leads me down the path of always wanting to hear the point/punch line/lesson/realization/solution. Thanks for the walk again today as always.

  2. Ramona says:

    Love the sink and your happy dance! I’m always glad for an excuse to eat out too. We’re considering a kitchen redo, so I want to know about those gorgeous counters.

  3. shaggerspicchu says:

    Elsie, I love the sink. It looks great, definitely worth the wait! ” This sink was ten years old, it was chipped and scratched, the faucet was wobbly (tightening did not help). ” I really liked this sentence. It drew me in!

    That would have been really bad news for me. I LOVE cooking, three days without cooking in the kitchen would have driven me crazy! I am glad you were able to turn the bad news into good news!

  4. I love your sink; it looks so nice. I also love excuses to eat out. We have all of the stuff sitting in our basement to redo our kitchen, but we never seem to get to it. Your picture and post are motivating me.

    I don’t know if I realized you were left handed- so am I.

  5. Hahahhaha. I agree! Another excuse for eating out for sure! I’m jealous as that sink looks really great. The first world problems and silver linings crack me up every time.

  6. Judy C. says:

    One project leads to another and then another. I’m in agreement with you and every else. This calls for no cooking until the cabinets are complete. I’m sure you can find one or two new places to try out. Sink & faucet are very attractive.

  7. Besides bird and nature book, you have first world problem book idea developing. Maybe I should do something to my kitchen faucet. I’d love a break from cooking.

  8. I love that new sink and hey, I’m a lefty too. Why am I not surprised we are in the same club šŸ™‚ You know what they say, it starts with a new ash tray and then watch out!

  9. Ha, very wise! Hmm, we have a new dishwasher coming soon…maybe we should eat out – in a precautionary way – until it comes! Your subtle humor perfectly elevates this mundane thing into something far-reaching and lovely as your new sink!

  10. New sink looks great! I think I would have given it 48 hours for the caulking to dry…after all you wouldn’t want a new sink to leak the first time you used it. I know eating out is a chore, but sometimes we just have to do what we need to do. As for the cabinets, there is no way you can cook while this project is being done. I suggest you start making restaurant reservations.

  11. Nice sink! Glad the plumber was able to make it fit. Our faucet is getting wobbly, too. I like that style but that seems to be a quirk that they get wobbly. I am sure you will be able to retrain yourself…lefties have had to do that their whole lives.

  12. Sink looks awesome, Elsie. I’m all for No Cooking! I thought we could save money by not installing a stove in our new kitchen…just a phone for carry-out! Great post today. Love reading your slices!

  13. I enjoyed your post and knew exactly which type of faucet you were talking about. I am right handed and usually hold things in my right hand like a glass. So when I use that type of faucet I find myself reaching around and under with my left hand. I guess retraining is not just limited to left handed people. šŸ™‚

Thanks for taking time to comment.

