Problems

Have you been hearing the term first world problems? When I Googled the term I found this definition:  First World Problems are frustrations and complaints that are only experienced by privileged individuals in wealthy countries. It is typically used as a tongue-in-cheek comedic device to make light of trivial inconveniences.

Lately I have been plagued with first world problems. Today I share a few.

Example 1: “There’s something wrong with the hot water heater again,” my husband tells me. Eventually warm water is flowing from the tap, but we are concerned. The water heater is ten years old, so we are living (or should I say bathing) on borrowed time (according to Consumer Reports).

We call to have someone look at it. It is not the water heater, but the recirculating pump that is not working right. However, after the examination, it seems to be working fine (for a few days). Dare I say we are spoiled, we want hot water within seconds after turning on the tap.

The pump is replaced along with the water heater. We decide to be proactive and not wait for disaster to strike.

Example 2: I take a bite, H-h-h-hot my mouth screams to my brain. My mouth is burned but I don’t realize it until I take a sip of my decaf coffee later that afternoon. It is not a sensation I enjoy. Wish I’d known the meat was heated before it was added to the grilled sandwich, thereby creating a molten hot filling, not just a warmed grilled sensation. Not complaining, just saying.

3. I am working at my desk. All of a sudden my chair sinks a fraction of an inch. Moments later, it sinks another fraction. Slip, slip, slip, slowly I sink lower and lower to the floor. I never know when the sinking will begin. It can go days, no slipping or I can be adjusting the height every fifteen minutes. Perhaps it is telling me I need to go on a diet.

These are minor inconveniences, but they sure are irritating. I guess I’m a victim of first world problems. I continue to discover more and more each day.

13 thoughts on “Problems

  1. Elsie, thanks for sharing! My friends and I use this term a lot! But, we are privileged individuals in a developing country (not wealthy). My favorite one is when we complain that our ayi (cleaning lady) didn’t do something the way we liked or is on vacation for a week and we have to clean our own apartments. We always call one another out with “first world problems.” It brings us back to reality, and we realize that we should be thankful that we HAVE an ayi in the first place. 🙂

  2. I’ve never heard that term- first world problems but I am familiar with the reference. I love how your intro just sucked me in. I was dying to know where this was going. It’s not complaining, just irritations to a nice comfy life. We have a water heater annoyance too. Ugh can’t do the dishes and laundry and take a bath! Awful! This is comedic no doubt!

  3. Ha- I love these. I like being reminded that my problems are problems other people would love to have. The best is complaining about some technology that most people don’t have.

    Jen

  4. Judy C. says:

    Even though they are minor inconveniences, during the moment they can be catastrophic. Guess we just need to step back and breathe a sigh and fix the problem (or replace). There are so many problems that can’t be fixed. We have a lot to be thankful for.

  5. I have a chair that sinks too, Elsie, at school! I have to get down on the floor to ‘re-wind’ it. It’s interesting how we get caught up in these minor things, like the internet is too slow, compared to those who have electricity a couple of hours a day, or none at all. We are spoiled.

  6. Not complaining, just saying.
    Yeah – they may be first world problems, but they are problems. none the less!
    PS. Here’s another problem – your link on TWT doest not work! Fixing it right away.

  7. After the week I’ve had …new light…dead dryer,,,I and to smile as I read your post. Although you might classify them as minor, when they happen they are a major annoyance. Thanks for the smile on a dreary rainy day.

  8. I often think about this. I try to remind myself to keep perspective on my problems – how petty they would sound to most of the world. This line made me smile – I felt as if I was sitting in the chair: “Slip, slip, slip, slowly I sink lower and lower to the floor. I never know when the sinking will begin. “

Thanks for taking time to comment.

