Slice of Life

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Wednesday’s writing workout, rhyming nonfiction (link to the post) from Teaching Authors blog sparked a thought. Friday is poetry day in the blog world. I wonder if I can do this? What could my nonfiction topic be? How about Slice of Life? Writing in rhyming couplets is not so easy. I am thankful for my Scholastic Rhyming Dictionary to help me through several revisions as I chose words.

Small moments you share

Family and friends, beware!

When a tale’s well told

The words become precious as gold.

This month you discovered a new topic or two,

When March is over, are you through?

Tuesdays call for more

You can do it, writing is no longer a chore!

This month you learned writing is fun,

 Never say, “I’m done.”

Instead say, “I’ve just begun!”

 

 

17 thoughts on “Slice of Life

  1. I love your poem. I’m bummed I missed out on the March challenge. Next year I want to give it a try. I’ve enjoyed reading your daily slices. You have to feel a huge sense of accomplishment!

  2. What a great poem! It is unbelievable that March is almost over. Last year I was not good about staying with Tuesdays, but it is my goal this year- I’ve just begun!

  3. Great poem! I am so glad that a friend of mine introduced me to SOL and that I took a chance on that first post. You are right, my writing has just begun.

  4. Great poem. My favorite line is “When a tale’s well told/The words become precious as gold.” It sounds like a saying from long ago. What a great way to capture this month’s writing challenge.

  5. shaggerspicchu says:

    This is phenomenal! Aggiekesler and I have decided to join the Tuesday Slice of LIfers. I need someone to remind me 😀 Looking forward to it!

  6. Ramona says:

    Wonderful words! Beautiful friend! Thanks for your encouragement. I listened to the siren call of poetry today too.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

