Tax Time

Question of the day: Will I owe money to IRS or do they owe me money? Keep reading to find out.

At 6:20 p.m. my cell phone rings. I look to see who the caller is but only the number shows. As it rings I study the number, do I know this number? It is in my area code, so it is local. I answer. It is the accountant’s office, our taxes are ready to be picked up. No clue if it is good news or bad news. “Great,” I say, “I will come over tomorrow and pick them up.”

I am not too worried, whatever it is I know that we will be able to handle it. My husband, on the other hand, continues to fret. “This is going to be expensive. I know we are going to have a massive tax bill.” He is concerned because he had a few part time jobs last year and no taxes were taken out. I understand his concern, but still I don’t think he made that much that it should be an issue.

I used to do our taxes. First I just muddled through on my own, then I began using Turbo Tax, which made it much easier. But as time went on and our circumstances changed, I had more and more difficulty understanding where to put what number with Turbo Tax. My stress level would rise as I watched the numbers on the computer grow. We always owed money and that was after paying extra taxes quarterly. The spring was never joyful.

Finally I had enough. We found an accountant to take over this onerous task. The tax story changed when he took over. We began getting money back. We paid less and less on the quarterly tax. Now tax time is not such a terrible time. I happily fill in the worksheet, stack receipts, and turn it over to him. A few weeks later, I get the call. Now spring is joyful, especially when we don’t have a huge tax bill. Once again, the accountant knew where to put the numbers and they came out in our favor. No taxes due! A refund will be deposited in our checking account. Now that’s good news!

To celebrate taxes I made Chocolate Peanut Butter

A Pinterest find, I think I will keep it, yum!

A Pinterest find, I think I will keep it, yum!

Cheesecake Cookie Bars for dessert. Who would of thought there’d be reasons to celebrate tax time? I hope you have good news on your taxes too.

18 thoughts on “Tax Time

  1. I think I’d rather have the lovely dessert than anything to do with taxes. Thanks for letting us know that everything is okay, and for the pic of the brownies-yum!

  2. Judy C. says:

    A wonderful reason to celebrate. No taxes due. April 15 is coming way too quickly and I need to rerun our numbers. The bars look yummy!

  3. I am still in the gathering/ ignoring phase. We will probably get refunds but I still hate going through all the saved papers. We too get someone to do them A lot easier! Those chocolate goodies look yummy!

  4. That is reason to celebrate! I’m totally cheating and reading slices instead of finishing getting my tax stuff in order. Yours was great distraction, as always!

  5. Glad you had good news! My husband seems to fret about it too while I just know that what will be will be and we can handle it. This year…not such good news for us, but we expected it and the news is much better than what we thought…so I guess it was good news after all. Love your celebration…looks yummy. And congratulations on winning the commenting challenge. I don’t know how you do it. I try to comment as much as I can…but always feel I could do better. It is an important part of blogging.

  6. Sometimes it is completely worth it to let the experts do tasks for you! And not owing money deserves a special treat- those treats look amazing- chocolate and peanut butter together- you can’t go wrong!

  7. Love refunds! Definitely a reason to celebrate!

    I understand your hubby’s concern. My taxes aren’t taken out of my consulting work. Therefore, I always fear I’ll owe money at the end of the year. However, my husband withholds the maximum from his paycheck, which usually means we end up getting a small refund. Hopefully the same will be true this year. (I feel like I’m jinxing myself to even write this.) I definitely like depositing money rather than withdrawing it.

  8. This should be an interesting tax time for us this year. With me retiring in June and filling out all of the paperwork at my exit workshop I hope enough is being withheld. I guess I’ll find. I like your method of celebrating. I might have to make something . Maybe I can celebrate getting my propane tank filled this morning.

    BTW, congratulations on winning the commenting challenge.

  9. Definitely worthy of celebration. My taxes are still simple enough that I can use Turbo Tax and I love watching the calculation at the side. I usually celebrate with ice cream.

  10. I actually quit fretting about taxes a few years ago, because all year long, my husband does enough fretting for both of us. Every month, he “estimates” our taxes, and we always end up with bad news – this happens all 12 months with regularity. Then, lo and behold, our taxes go to our accountant and we are getting a nice refund back.
    Glad to know you got good news and good enjoy such a yummy dessert to celebrate!

  11. Turning tax time into a blog and then on top of that, dessert! WOW! That is awesome! My husband does Turbo Tax. He is self employed so we pay all year. Even if we somehow did get something back, it just goes to next year’s bill. No joy here. No dessert, either! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

