Hunters

When I left to do my weekly grocery shopping, my husband was planning on getting some yard work done. It was a rare day that allowed him to be outside preparing the yard for spring. His goal was to cut down the liriope that borders the walk to the front door.

When I returned several hours later, the liriope was only half pruned and my husband was straddling bushes holding a shovel. My neighbor, Dave, was brandishing a pitchfork in another area of the front landscaped bed. A portion of the decorative rock was shifted, the black mat was pulled back, and the ground underneath was muddy. It didn’t take me long to realize they were on a mole hunt. The bed looked like a bomb had exploded and craters were everywhere.

When my husband had started to clip the liriope, he discovered a hill of dirt had been pushed up, a sure sign of a mole’s presence. That creature is a four letter word in our household. My husband decided to take action because he knew the runs were fresh. Dave came over to help. As they plotted their mode of attack they could see the ground moving. Immediately they sprang into action with the hose. This little fellow was about to experience a water slide. When the hunters heard the rock moving, Dave began to stab the ground with the pitchfork, hoping to impale the critter. My husband was digging to try to unearth the unfortunate mole.

When I arrived, they were frozen over the landscape, listening for any sound, looking for any movement. They were satisfied they had been successful. I went into the house, and the hunters were pondering their next move when the ground began to move again.

This time a grandson of Dave’s had joined the group. He began stabbing the ground with the pitchfork and when he pulled it out something was attached. Dave attacked with the grass clippers. My husband grabbed a bucket from the garage to capture the critter. I was called outside to view their prey. This mole had been feasting because it was a fat fellow. Unfortunately for him, he chose the wrong yard to burrow in and his life was at its end.

It’s been a few days, no new mole mounds have surfaced, so I hope the mole drama is over and word spreads in the tunnels of the danger lurking above.

17 thoughts on “Hunters

  1. I cringed and giggled at your writing today! I love posts that can get me so engaged so quickly, even the kind of engagement that makes me cringe a bit!! You have such a wonderful way creating imagery that makes me just want to hear you tell your stories, even though I feel like I know your voice!

  2. Judy C. says:

    Elsie, I read this early this morning and didn’t have time to comment, so had to come back. You made my morning – I chuckled while I showered. I could just picture your hubby and neighbor stalking this tiny (but invasion) creature. Glad they were successful.

  3. Thanks for a fun and enlightening post – I no absolutely nothing about moles. We don’t have them here in the Southwest to my knowledge. Other nasty varmints but no moles.

  4. Lynn says:

    I didn’t know moles were such pests! Frankly, I’m not even sure I would know one if I saw one . . Yikes I hope I never do 😉

  5. Reminds me of a cat bring a dead mouse into the house so that you can praise it for the work it did. Loved this post. My most unwelcome garden visitor was a snake that decided to take up residence in a shrub just outside the door. Hmm…could be a future post.

  6. The moles are not that easy to get rid of, congrats to the team for being successful. I went back reading your slices. I like the variety. What a different story today’s is compared to the scarf ladies. .

  7. And they’re so cute in the picture books, Elsie! I don’t think they’re here in Colorado, but remember well the problems in Missouri. Now some have trouble here with prairie dogs, similar issues. You brought us into this tense story very well!

  8. I think mole is a four letter word for everyone. Glad they were successful. I almost didn’t read your post when my email listed the word hunters in the subject line. Great description. My favorite line – “The bed looked like a bomb had exploded and craters were everywhere.”

  9. Tam says:

    Spring fun for the guys. We’ve never followed a mole, but my son’s dogs have had their fun following and catching them. Yes, spring moments.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

