Reasons to Celebrate

This week I was away from home. I spent four days modeling writing lessons in grades 3-5 and one day meeting with K-5 teachers on their plan period. It was an exhausting week! I celebrate that I survived and have completed all my days contracted in this school.

This is an inner city school. If you have never worked in an inner city school it would be impossible to comprehend how difficult life can be for these teachers and students. I celebrate the determination that these teachers have to return to their classes day after day. I don’t know if I could have spent my career in this situation. I am so thankful for the districts that I did work in.

Returning home was a reason to celebrate, but to make it even better, I was able to meet up with my friends to enjoy a coffee and lots of conversation. They heard my tale of woe and I listened to the stories of their life. It was a time to refuel the soul. That’s what friends do.

Today, the breeze is warm. The grill will be uncovered (for a short time) to give me char-grilled burgers and veggies tonight. I celebrate the tastes of summer. Tomorrow will be another story, so I will savor the flavors of this day.

Noticing celebrations makes my weekend happy.

15 thoughts on “Reasons to Celebrate

  1. So glad you’ve had a bit of time to savor warm breezes and burgers on the grill. I was exhausted during the week just reading your schedule. Glad you made it home with time to refuel with friends.

  2. The grill uncovered sounds like a good time to me, Elsie. I think that inner city schools can be challenging, but also can work well with great staff and a good leader. Glad you had the chance to experience this, although hard.

  3. I agree. It takes a special teacher to work in an inner city school- one with determination, loads of compassion, and unending love. Glad you were able to work in a different setting. 🙂

  4. I spent the day as well with close friends for some refueling. You really have a way of putting the words together like tale of woe and noticing celebrations. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  5. mrssurridge says:

    I sometimes think we should be required to go visit schools that are different than ours. Maybe we would complain less and recognize our blessings more often.

    I’m celebrating my weekend with all the doors and windows open. Burgers on the BBQ are coming tomorrow.

  6. I’m so glad you got some time with friends. That always refuels me too.

    Hope you enjoyed grilling. It was the perfect day for that. I’m loving this weather. No more snow days :), but I hope it’s here to stay. It reminds me that warmer weather and summer are getting closer.

    I’m loving reading all your March posts,
    Jen

  7. I celebrated a dinner with friends this week, too! It’s so special to have a group like that. I can’t imagine the challenges of an inner city school. Enjoy your grilled meal – I can’t wait to grill again – come on, spring!!

  8. I was just talking with my husband about the difficulties in teaching in an inner city school as to where I taught. I wonder at the strength of the teachers who, as you say, are able to return day after day. So glad you were able to relax after a busy week.

  9. I love the thought of friends refueling the soul! I am savoring the flavors of grilled burgers tonight too…because that darn four letter word is back in the forecast for tomorrow!

  10. Judy C. says:

    It is so good to get rejuvenated after a long, difficult week. Friends are great for that and it’s been a beautiful day (until tomorrow). Enjoy your burger on the grill – hopefully hubby is grillin’

Thanks for taking time to comment.

