Browsing Books

I love to wander around the picture book section in book stores. I usually gather a handful of books, find a chair, and enjoy a slow read. The other night I was bone tired, but I was in the shopping center with a book store. I had to stop in to do a quick browse. I didn’t buy, but I found a couple to add to my wish list.

Have you seen this book? Aviary Wonders Inc. Spring Catalog and Instruction Manual Hardcover by Kate Samworth is a unique picture book. photo 1 (2)I was entranced as I thumbed through the pages. The premise is you select body parts to build your own bird. 

I can see this being a fun project for students to take on to create a unique bird to match a specific environment. The explanations for each body part allows you to select just the right features. This would be perfect in a unit of study on animal adaptations.

Then I saw Weeds Find a Way by by Cindy Jenson-Elliott. I remembered seeing this reviewed on a blog and thinking darn, why didn’t I think of this? photo 2 (2)When I ride my bike, I see so many weeds. Some are beautiful, some are not. Now this is on my wish list too.

I wish nonfiction books were like these two books when I was younger. I think I would have read and reread them until the pages were worn.

21 thoughts on “Browsing Books

  1. OOHHHH, we just completed animal adaptations a few months ago. I’m going to share the “Aviary Wonders Inc. Spring Catalog and Instruction Manual Hardcover by Kate Samworth” with some teachers. I’ve always enoyed your book shares. A family favorite that we had the library get the whole collection is “Scaredy Squirrel”.

  2. This year I have been trying to increase my students’ reading of nonfiction. There are so many good nonfiction books out there. I have seen many reviews on the Weeds Find a Way. Might have to “find a way” to buy it!

  3. I just reviewed Weeds, a wonderful book, Elsie, and saw about Aviary Wonders earlier, but thanks for your ideas too. That book sounds awesome, so fun for kids to do. Glad you browsed a little bit!

  4. I love this phrase: enjoy a slow read! and the idea of creating a unique bird is very much in the 21st century notions of education being student generated .
    Keep sharing those slow reads 🙂

  5. Sorry to post this here but I couldn’t find another place.
    Our power went out last night just before I kid post my slice. My husband lives in another town and was able to access my blogspot account and I had him post it for me. Unfortunately he posted it on the classroom slice. Is there a way to switch it? I am Peg D at ArcherMom@blogspot.com. Thanks for any help or advice.

  6. I always shied away from nonfiction books because they were dry and uninteresting, at least to me. If there had been books like this I may have formed a liking for nonfiction. Instead I am drawn to James Patterson and Stephen King.

  7. Tam says:

    When I saw the title of Weeds Find a Way, I thought, too, “It’s all around me, why can’t I find something to write about every day?” Thanks for the book reviews. I have a notebook where I list books I want to read, for my grandkids, and book club. What do you mean you will write for right now? You’re in this for life! I know what you mean, that Ruth! My goal is to print out my blog some day and that will be my book/thoughts for anyone who wants to read it in my family. It would have been grand to do this while my 3 boys grew up. You have a gift, Elsie.

  8. I have Aviary Wonders Inc. Spring Catalog and Instruction Manual on hold at my library, but Weeds Find a Way is new to me and I will add it to my wish list. Thanks for sharing these. I also wish nonfiction had been like this when we were kids.

  9. Ramona says:

    I remember the nonfiction books we had as children – all print, with an occasional black and white picture. They left much to be desired! Glad I stopped by this morning. You gave me an idea for today’s post.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

