A Journey

Dropped from a cloud

Bounced on a roof

Rolled until

Wedged between others.

Warming rays of sun

Change my form

Slipping and sliding

Splash in a trough,

Squeezed through a crack.

Drip

           Drip

Slipping and sliding, again

Travel over green

Follow the path

Moving faster

Now slower,

S     l   o    w       e        r

Frozen again.

Fingers reaching

To the ground.

Outside my kitchen window, the river becomes a forest of stalactites.

Outside my kitchen window, the river becomes a forest of stalactites.

20 thoughts on “A Journey

  1. Judy C. says:

    Thanks for the journey that your took us on, slipping, sliding, down and again. Great poem and picture to bring it all together.

  2. I just have a couple of inches of green up so far. Sorry for the ice plant! You took us on quite an adventure. I was waiting, waiting to see what was going to be revealed!

  3. Tam says:

    Lovely. Have seen these on our large bushes. Poor little drops, but I would rather just see them as liquid only.

  4. You really know how to weave in all those elements of writer’s craft. I love the repetition and how you move the words around. You have inspired me to use pictures before the challenge is over. It is helped me with my reading and I can see how it would encourage the young writer’s in the classroom.

  5. Great picture!. Love the poem. I especially enjoy going for a ride on the day after an ice storm so see the trees glistening like diamonds in the sun. It’s hard to think of a more beautiful sight.

  6. Elsie,
    I love how the verbs in your poem are the anchors. More for me to think about as I’m sure I rely way too heavily on the “descriptive” elements. And ending with the picture so I could match my thinking to the “real thing” was a stroke of genius.
    Thanks!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

