Make Over

Did you notice anything new? This is what happens when WordPress sends out an email announcing new themes. Not quite sure what I did, but obviously I clicked on something, because before I could blink, my blog look changed dramatically.

I’d been thinking about changing things up for a while, but always hesitated. I was comfortable with my blog look. I knew how to navigate around it. Placing pictures was sometimes a challenge, but I worked it out.

Lately I’ve been browsing through the theme choices. I’d study them, wonder how they’d work for me, then click away and stay with the same old theme. Until this week. 

I thought I was getting a preview of how my blog would look. Nope, it activated and changed it all. At first, panic set in. What have I done? Can I find my old theme and reverse this? But then I stopped and looked. Hmmm, I studied the new look. I kind of liked it. I’ve been in the Notepad theme for four years. Maybe it is time for a new look. 

I won’t guarantee that the look won’t change again during the month, but I think I’ll try it out. After all, it’s called Sorbet, doesn’t that sound delicious? Just what I need to cleanse my palate.

28 thoughts on “Make Over

  1. Woah, loving the make over!! Sorry, but it’s been a while since I’ve come to your blog… at first I thought, is this the right blog?? I love the name of the theme: sorbet! 🙂

  2. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    I like your new look. Very clean. Modern. Makes me rethink my curly cues and such. Hmmm…maybe an update in the future.

  3. b says:

    Hi Elsie! The last part is clever — I love the whole notion of sorbet cleansing the palate and now your new template boasts the same name. I like your style — I think the new format is pretty and functional. Happy March!!! b

  4. Ramona says:

    I have a post planned about you folks who keep changing your blogs. Keep an eye out for it. I even came up with the name for it this morning. I’m slow to change, but this summer I’m planning to slurp my blog . . . make a book out of the posts. Then I’ll consider changing it. Sorbet – I do like the sound of it!

  5. Julie Crocker says:

    I like it! Hello again Elsie. Sorry I failed to stick to slicing during the year. But it’s good to be back this month. The new look is great. I decided to pick a new background, but I am still considering a new format all the way around. Looking forward to sharing with you this month

  6. Sorbet is perfect! It made me laugh as I remembered our visit last year when you described what you were wearing as sherbet colored. Good timing for your sunny So. Cal. visit as we are soggy and wet this weekend!

  7. Have you ever driven down a highway that you know really well, and then all of sudden you look and you have no idea where you are? That is how In felt last night when I came to your blog! I had to make sure I hadn’t made a u-turn somewhere. I love the new look and Sorbet fits right in with your one little word for this year – sweet!

  8. I just asked you on the other post about the ‘intentions’, Elsie, so now I know. I do like it, & you can play around with it if & when you wish. Have a terrific weekend, snow or not!

  9. I really like the new theme, but as a follower of your blog, it did surprise me when I clicked on your link. 🙂 I’m glad that you’re being a risk taker and rolling with it. Glad to see you slicing this year! 🙂

  10. Judy C. says:

    Love the new theme – sorbet sounds yummy! And what a great way to start out the month of March and the SOL challenge. Looking forward to many great slices from you.

  11. I didn’t recognize you at first. New looks are nice. I too have been thinking about changing it up a bit over at Teaching Young Writers, but haven’t put the time in yet. You may have inspired me though!

  12. I like the look. I admit that I don’t take to change easily. Frontier just changed to look of my email and I am still trying to find out where they put some the the things I had. Maybe your new look will inspire me to try out different themes as well.

  13. Isn’t it fun when something new happens when we least expect it–be that a new blog look or a new friend. Your friendship, through your comments on my blog, was new and surprising for me last year. I look forward to providing that for a newbie this year. I love your look. Clean. Simple. Thanks for all you do through your comments to support those of us who love words.

  14. Well, who couldn’t like Sorbet? Change is good. I’ve been thinking about it, too. There are some things I think I would lose if I did now in Blogger though, so I’ll have to think more on it. But if I could have, let’s say chocolate….

  15. Sorbet seems right with the slice of orange theme this year! Perhaps that is why Word Press “jumped” at the chance to change your blog to a SOL friendly format I must admit I like the clean, uncluttered look……I was thinking of morphing to Word Press before SOL this year, but didn’t get to it./…perhaps in April!!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

