Looking for moments of celebration help me to focus on the sweetness of my life and all that surrounds me. Sometimes it is easy to get bogged down and mired in what’s not right, but when you search for that moment of sparkle, there is some light even if you are in a deep dark tunnel.

One: Meeting up with a friend made at the All-Write conference. Jen came to the conference not knowing anyone, but she left with a pocket of new friends. All of her new friends waited anxiously for her to begin blogging and she did. That allowed me to get in touch with her. The first time we tried to plan a get-together Mother Nature swooped in with the polar vortex and we were not able to meet. However, Mother Nature’s cold wave this week did not interfere with our meeting. We met and talked and talked and talked. It was good to visit with Jen and learn more about her life. We will meet again. My husband cannot quite figure out how I can find so much to talk about when I meet fellow bloggers. I just can’t explain it.

Two: During my early morning drive into the city, I spotted a mini-rainbow high in the clouds. It was faint but incredible to see this dash of color against the blue sky and clouds. I wish I could have taken a picture.

Three: I had a tough day one day. It made me want to walk out of the school and not return. I didn’t think I was making a difference. I felt like I was just spinning my wheels. I talked to friends, they were encouraging, but they followed up the next day to check on how it went. I celebrate those friends who can pick you up and help you through the tough times.

Four: My purse was locked in a closet. I could not leave the school at the end of the day. I waited and waited for the person to return to her room. Finally I went searching for someone to open this closet door. Thirty-five minutes after school was out, I was on my way. Now I know that does not sound like anything to celebrate. It is not. However, because I was later, I was able to view a spectacular sunset during my drive . The colors calmed me and mesmerized me during the drive. I was no longer aggravated, but I was in a restful place by the time I reached my destination.

Sometimes you have to look a little harder to find the moment to celebrate. Thanks Ruth for making me look deeper for those moments to celebrate.

12 thoughts on “

  1. Celebrating all of the little things makes everything better, doesn’t it. I love that you were able to connect with Jen (and next I’m headed to her blog). The relationships we build through blogging and Twitter are amazing. I hope you have a wonderful week.

  2. I love that I made your post and am grateful for the time we got to share.

    I can totally relate to great friends picking me up and reminding me I do make a difference. Thank you for being there for me lately. I really appreciate your support and encouragement.

    Glad you got to enjoy a beautiful moment after some frustration.

    Jen

  3. Jaana says:

    In your #2 you talk about watching the sunrise, and then in #4 you talk about seeing the sunset. Life moves on and we sometimes we have to be determined to find the sweet moments in between. You are purposeful in finding those moments just like when you respond to our blog posts! I think the sweetness is part of you!

  4. It’s true, sometimes you do have to look a little harder. I think there is always something there somewhere to celebrate though. More often it’s difficult for me to find the time to share the celebration than to figure out what to celebrate!

  5. I am so glad you found some celebrations in your week. It sounds like it wasn’t a typical Elsie week…especially with no pictures! I so hope to meet fellow bloggers some day. I talk about all of you to others like we are dear friends and I don’t know a single one of you! That is what makes this community a true celebration. I hope you have a great week!

  6. I love that little detail about your husband not understanding why it is you can find so much to talk about with other bloggers. It is obvious to us, but I have had similar difficulty trying to explain it to others. I also love that you included some celebrations of nature–I have come to think of admiring, and interacting with nature as an elsie trademark. I remember certain posts of yours when I pay particular attention to the sunrise or a vignette of the moon.

  7. Love that your OLW “sweet” has been with you when looking for celebrations this week. It’s impossible to avoid stress, but it is always possible to find tiny celebrations.

  8. I love reading about your week – glad that your delay was rewarded with a sunset that rejuvenated you. Please tell Jen hello the next time you see her. It’s great to have friends who encourage and follow up. Have a delightful weekend

  9. So glad your friends reached out to give you a boost after “that” day, Elsie. It does matter a lot, doesn’t it? And, how wonderful to meet Jen. I’ve still been looking to find out about the All-Write! A lovely thing to anticipate! Have a great weekend!

  10. “Sometimes you have to look a little harder to find the moment to celebrate.”
    Yes, but you always manage to find a way, Elsie. And I’m really smiling about your first celebration – so true!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

