Celebrating Birthdays and More

Once again it is time to reflect on the moments of celebration from the past seven days. Today I am prepared as I’ve started jotting quick notes in a notebook. I must confess, I am not an intentional writer in a notebook. Hopefully this practice will help me to remember and notice more celebrations.

First: My father-in-law turned 84 on Monday. That in itself is a celebration, but the day before produced a celebration of its own. On Sunday my husband, Mike, was driving up to be with his father for his birthday. As he was moving down the interstate, he noticed a car with windows open (it was chilly out), so this alerted him to pay attention. Mike thought this was the driver’s way to wake himself up. He kept watching as the car moved from side to side. Finally the car veered off into the median and the jolt woke the driver who was able to control the car and bring it to a stop. Mike stopped to check and see if the man was okay. He was, but he was badly shaken by the near miss of an accident. He was a soldier headed back to Ft. Leonard Wood. I celebrate that no one was injured and that Mike was able to check on the soldier.

Second: The 84th birthday celebration was a success. The father and son spent a enjoyable day together which involved a movie, Thai food, and ice cream.

Third: I also celebrated a friend’s birthday this week. Dinner out with the girls to toast friendship and birthdays.

Fourth: The weather gets a shout out from me, because it did not interfere with my working this week. Although it was cold, there was no snow or ice to make driving hazardous.

Fifth: I celebrate my OLW (sweet). All of a sudden this word is present in conversations I’ve had this week. That has made me stop and jot notes related to its usage. It will be interesting see where and when this word pops up this year.

I’m looking forward to discovering more celebrations next week. Are you?

 

8 thoughts on “Celebrating Birthdays and More

  1. I agree with Christy, the cars and driving stories are definitely part of your family life. I am glad for the happy ending of this one. It’s a phenomenon of one little word that it suddenly starts popping up in unexpected places. Your word makes me smile.

  2. Wow – close call for that poor soldier. So glad that your husband stopped to make sure he was okay. Sweet to see the other celebrations, Elsie – you had a great week!

  3. I wasn’t around on Tuesday to read slices so I missed your story about finding your OLW. Went back to read and I am so glad it found you! Birthdays are always great celebrations!

  4. Jaana says:

    I am excited to read about OLW appearances in our daily lives! So glad to also read that the soldier was okay! Hopefully the weather won’t cause you too many problems in the coming week either!

  5. Happy birthday to your father-in-law-nice that the weather didn’t keep your husband in this week! And glad for you too, Elsie, in your work. Glad you got to go out with your friends too-sounds like a lot of fun. Have a ‘sweet’ weekend, too!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

