Too Many Offers

I have a fever, but Tylenol won’t help. I have an itch, but scratching won’t bring me relief. I am burning up with the desire to go somewhere. I have been home since the end of July. (I know, you are thinking, cry me a river).

I don’t want much, I just want someone else to be in charge of dinner choices. I want to see things I’ve never seen. I want to browse the shops in foreign lands (even though I don’t really buy anything, it’s just fun to look).

The cruise companies are not helping me at all. My mailbox is stuffed with offers. My email overflows with offers. If I can go now, next week, next month I will save, save, save. I cannot go next week, or next month, or anytime in the near future. Sigh . . . it makes me sad to delete the temptations from email or recycle the brochures showing me how happy everyone is on a cruise. I know that happiness, I’ve been there. (I think I’d like a little cheese, with my whine now.)

But for now I can only study the booklets and dream of the day when I can cruise the rivers in Europe. Sail around the British Isles. Explore the Great Barrier Reef and see more of Australia. Visit China to walk the Great Wall and be amazed by the Terracotta Warriors. Travel down the coast of South America with a quick stop in Antarctica. These are a few of the cruises that are calling me to come play. One day these trips will be checked off the bucket list. Then it will be time to make another list. Hmmm . . . I wonder what will entice me next?

23 thoughts on “Too Many Offers

  1. Tiffs says:

    I’m with Janay! Lets go! You’ve had so many wonderful adventures. I feel certain you have an adventure waiting for you!

  2. janinspfd says:

    Oh, Elsie……I am whining with you. Wish you could go to all of those places, too, but I think it should be with your best friends!!

  3. Terje says:

    I like your beginning. You can imagine that when I read your first few words, I got worried. Glad that I read on fast to understand what you were speaking about. May your dream come true.

  4. It sounds to me like it’s time to make a plan, pack a bag and hit the road! A trip is in your future for sure…and the rest of us will enjoy hearing about it!

  5. Ooh, I know that itch well… Traveling is so enchanting! (I also remember some pretty cool trips you’ve been lucky enough to go on already!) I can’t wait to hear what you will choose! (Have you ever been to Spain? It’s lovely!)

  6. The beginning of your post drew me in right away. My husband and I traveled abroad for the first time this summer when we went to Turkey. The travel bug definitely bit me and I can’t wait for our next trip. Although, like you, there are no plans at this time. I do like Bonnie’s advice! šŸ™‚

  7. Leigh Anne says:

    I’m thinking beach right about now…especially since we may have our first snow day Friday! Love reading your posts…as always!

  8. What a great way to hook us into reading more! I am itching to visit my daughter in Europe, but found out she is traveling during my spring break. Well, there is always a next time, right.

  9. I know the feeling. I used to get jealous when I drove by the airport of all of the people who were going somewhere while I was going to buy groceries. I hope you get your wish soon!

  10. Ha, I love your lead to this piece! You sure are sick – with a travel bug!
    I have the itch, too, but I just want to take my girls to Disney. Is that too much to ask??
    I hope you get to satisfy your yearning real soon!!

  11. Best wishes for a great trip! There is a direct flight now from Denver to Iceland! I’ve met a few who are taking advantage-maybe not the right time, but who knows. (When I glanced at your post first I thought you were ill, Elsie, but it’s the right kind of fever!)

  12. Ramona says:

    You captured your wanderlust perfectly! No Ireland? You had me at the beginning thinking you were suffering from the flu . . . love the structure of this slice!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

