A Few Views From the Bike

Biking opportunities are rarer now that fall chased summer away. Since the landscape changes between bike rides I am on constant alert to notice the differences. So here I share a few pictures and thoughts.

Early in the fall this vine grew on many trees. It made me think of flannel underwear for trees. Of course it faded away after the first frost.

Early in the fall this vine grew on many trees. It made me think of flannel underwear for trees. Of course it faded away after the first frost.

Not quite sure what to make of this scene. Are they going to have a bonfire and they want comfortable seating? What about rain? This has been there for a couple of months.

Not quite sure what to make of this scene. Are they going to have a bonfire and they want comfortable seating? What about rain? This has been there for a couple of months.

I love, love, love spotting the hawks when the trees are leafless. They are so regal surveying the land below them.

I love, love, love spotting the hawks when the trees are leafless. They are so regal surveying the land below them.

They are also camera shy, so it is rare that I can get focused to capture their image.

They are also camera shy, so it is rare that I can get focused to capture their image.

Some leaves are just not ready to drop. They wear their colors proudly.

Some leaves are just not ready to drop. They wear their colors proudly.

And then there are some who jump ship at the first opportunity. Of course a few hang in there to see what life is like in winter.

And then there are some who jump ship at the first opportunity. Of course a few hang in there to see what life is like in winter.

I guess my next view won’t be from the bike but from two feet.

14 thoughts on “A Few Views From the Bike

  1. I love mixing words and photographs! Of course, it is like the two strongest parts of my soul uniting, so it probably makes a lot of sense. I should do it more often! Thanks for motivating me!

  2. Tara Smith says:

    You see and share so much that gives me pause – flannel underwear for tree? sofas before a bonfire? Now I sit back and wonder and think of stories…Thanks, Elsie!!

  3. Judy C. says:

    Beautiful pictures, Elsie. The fall colors have been absolutely gorgeous this year. I especially like your comment about the “Flannel underwear” – too funny.

    Thanks for sharing.

  4. Ramona says:

    Elsie I love the photos and your captions, but the gorgeous blue sky lifted the
    gray blanket that already covers our Northwest world! I love the proud orange leaves with the blue sky in the background.

  5. It’s hard to choose a favorite, Elsie-some are just gorgeous, and some gave me a good laugh this am. Those sofas by the brush pile-looks like a party gone awry. Yet, I do love the hawk-you captured them just right!

  6. I’m not really that ready to say goodbye to this amazing season yet. I love the flannel underwear and of course the couch! People are so funny. I’m so excited, because Dave is thinking about getting us new bikes…I can’t wait to get out there like both of you do. xo

Thanks for taking time to comment.

