Another Week of Celebrations

Have you noticed all the celebrations that seem to pop up in your day? Moments that would be mentally acknowledged with a smile in your mind, now become a small hug to yourself as you revisit them again and share with the world what you celebrated this week. Here is how I celebrated this week:

Monday: I met up with my girlfriends to share a burger and beverage. There is a fine dining restaurant (entrees are $30 and that does not include salad) that has its bar in the basement and they serve great burgers for cheap during their happy hour. The first time I visited this place was on my birthday this year. That’s when I knew I’d be returning with my best buds. Of course it was a celebration just to be with my friends, but there was an added bonus. On this night the bar was implementing a new menu of burgers and they were only . . . are you ready? . . . an unbelievable price . . . $1.00! Yes, you read that right! One measly dollar for a rather large burger, any burger on their menu. I jumped on the one with blue cheese (my favorite!). The burgers came plain but there was a fixings bar set up so you could dress it any way you wanted. Let me say YUM!

Tuesday: A kindergarten teacher sent me a request for a poem that I had used with them. She could not find her copy, could I please send this to her. Poem sent. Moments later a new email appeared in my inbox.

email

Sometimes you just need to read this.

Wednesday: I spent the morning with a fifth grade teacher and got to model Kylene Beers’s strategy of Tea Party using Carnivores by Aaron Reynolds. If you don’t know Tea Party, check it out here. The fifth graders loved it! As they read their strips, they were to figure out who the characters were and what seems to be the problem. None of the strips had any of the characters named on them but they did have clues. Who do you think might be a “bad kitty,” or a “husky fish with a healthy appetite.”

Side note to the name of this strategy. A seventh grade teacher mentioned that the name of this strategy did not set well with her kids, so they renamed it Strip Tease. Yup, middle school and high school could definitely get behind an activity with that name. ūüôā

The rest of the day was spent with  teachers of grades 4-8 exploring close reading and the first writing standard. The good news is I was prepared to discuss all the standards, so most of my work for January is ready! Celebrate that! because January is going to be a crazy month for me. (Praying there are no snow days!)

Thursday: I had the opportunity to watch the musical “Cats” put on by the high school kids of my school district I retired from. As I perused the cast list, I discovered one of my former Reading Recovery students was Mr. Mistoffelees. What a fabulous job these kids did! It makes you proud to see how they have grown from first grade.

Friday: I went to a new food truck lot where I had a taste of England. It was a pasty (pass-tee), a meat and potato handheld pie. It was tasty and I know I will return to this truck, but maybe on a little warmer day. However, I also celebrate that my friend was able to attend a conference on this day and hear Georgia Heard speak. I know I will also get to learn from Georgia Heard through my friend. So I celebrate the new thinking in nonfiction writing that will be coming my way.

Saturday: The day is young, I wonder, what celebrations lie in store for me today?

What have you celebrated this week?

12 thoughts on “Another Week of Celebrations

  1. janinspfd says:

    As one of your “best buds”, I am very thankful for you, Elsie! What a fun burger night that was. Ready to do it again. We got to see each other twice in the same week, which was quite a celebration for me. That doesn’t happen often enough!

  2. I concur with Ramona’s comment – a smile in your mind. Perfect. Glad you have January planning completed. Time to enjoy the holidays. A night out with the gals – fun. Sometimes I think of you smiling with us when the BONS writing group meets. We would have a great time together. Enjoy today.

  3. So much to give you a high five for, Elsie. It sounds like a fabulous week. Love that you saw Cats (a favorite of mine) & a former student in it. Such fun to see them grow up!

  4. Ramona says:

    Elsie, I love this phrase – “Moments that would be mentally acknowledged with a smile in your mind, now become a small hug to yourself…” My favorite has to be the emai!

  5. Many great things to celebrate but my favorite would have to be the $1 burger day! Wow, what a jackpot! The link for Tea party didn’t work, but I will try some other things and see if I can find it! Have a great week Elsie!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

