Some People!

Yesterday I headed out to meet up with my gal pals for a dinner, a drink, and a catch-up on what’s been happening since we last met. As I drove, I pondered my dilemma, no Slice of Life story! My mind flips back through the week. Surely, something memorable stands out. Hmmm, nothing passes the interest factor in my mind.

While these thoughts pass through, I notice a beat-up, dirty green car in front of me. The driver speeds up, then slows down. He veers into the center lane, he veers back into his lane. I think, “This idiot must me texting.” I decide to keep my distance from him and watch carefully.

We arrive at an intersection with a stoplight. Of course, it is red with a long line of cars waiting. I know I will not make it through when  the light turns green. I settle back waiting patiently, hoping that the cars will move swiftly, but they don’t. The light becomes red. So I wait, third in line for the next green light.

The left turn light turns green, apparently the green car thinks he can go too. He moves forward, then he backs up. “What are you doing?” I wondered. Suddenly all is revealed when the first car driver gets out of her clean, shiny  white car. She walks to the back of her car and looks first at her bumper, then at the driver of the green car. The green car tries to get around her, but he stops as she talks to him. The hand gesturing indicates she wants to pull through the intersection to the other side and they can investigate damage further. She gets back into her car, crosses the street, pulling over. The green car however, did not follow her. He takes an immediate right turn and zooms off getting lost in the traffic of the road.

I cannot believe what I just saw! I wish I had taken note of the green car’s license plate. I feel sorry for the driver of the white car as I pass her pulled over and inspecting her car. It makes me so mad at the driver of the green car, but I also feel grateful that I was not in front of the green car. Some people!

24 thoughts on “Some People!

  1. Judy C. says:

    It’s the “other guy” that we need to be concerned about when driving. We were following a car from West Plaines to Mtn. Home and he was texting, swerving from one side to the other, around the curves and hills. It was really scary. Glad you were behind him, but how frustrating.

  2. That would be frustrating. Every once in a while I have those close calls that make me thankful for not getting into an accident. They always make me feel unsettled, but then I am so grateful that everyone was safe and no one actually got in an accident. This is different though – that sense that someone did something wrong, thankfully no one was hurt, but then was inconsiderate and irresponsible!

  3. Oh my, how could someone just drive off like that? I try to remind myself to pray that get where they are going safely without killing themselves or other people. It’s drivers like that one who terrify me as my daughter is learning to drive.

  4. I thought he was going to back into you. I just knew that he had forgotten the car was in reverse and would hit the gas and plow into you. I’m one of the lucky ones! Someone dented my door in the school parking lot last year and left a note and contact number.

  5. Scary that ‘he?’ is out on the road. A young woman smashed into my daughter’s parked car about a month ago late at night. (This car parks on a city street.) The woman was texting! It was a big problem, but at least she didn’t drive away, she did knock at their home & tell them. I’m glad you weren’t in front of that car either, Elsie.

  6. Well, at least you got a slice from this…but how annoying that the driver did not stop. It is strange how now we automatically think someone is texting when they are weaving and changing speed. I passed someone on the toll road last week who was texting…driving 70…and had a small child in the back seat! So crazy!

  7. Ugh!! That reminds me of driving behind a weaving car, anticipating the accident that was sure to happen. As I called 911 to report it, he veered away from me and took another road. I still hope he got caught and no one was hurt.

  8. Ugh, some people! I wonder how people live with the guilt of knowing they did something like that to another person? Glad you weren’t on the receiving end!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

