Just Being

BIC (butt in chair) is how I spent most of my week. Doesn’t sound very worthy of a celebration, does it? But actually I do celebrate that I finished gathering information for my work next week and I’m not down to the wire preparing. Plus I will be able to use some of the material in the future with other schools. I always celebrate when I can reuse some of my material and I don’t have to reinvent the wheel every time I work in a school.

Weather mild enough for a bike ride is another celebration for the week. Our temperatures are supposed to plunge next week, so I am hoping for at least one more ride to take in the final stages of fall.

I also celebrated the arrival of Ruth’s book in my mailbox. As I savor the sunlight on the patio, I will be enjoying her words of celebration. Do you know how hard it was to continue working and having that book sitting beside me begging to be read? I know you know, but now I can sit back, relax, and learn. I know that I will be sharing her words with my schools.

Have a great week and see you next Saturday to celebrate!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Just Being

  1. Elsie, I have been thinking a out your bike ride after I read your post on Sat. Sorry for the delay in commenting. I do hope you were able to relax and read. I love Ruth’s book and so glad she has created a place for sharing celebrations. It makes the days more positive. Harley is sitting next to me S I am taking time to read and comment. Hope your week goes well.

  2. Congratulations on butt in chair! I always consider that a huge accomplishment. And hurray that you are creating stuff you can use more than once. Hoping I will get Ruth’s book for Christmas– can’t wait to get hold of a copy!

  3. Ha – I loved the term BIC! 😉 I feel like I’ve been spending a lot of time like that – grading, planning, writing and reading for work, and completing paperwork. The whole balance between working and pleasure reading seems to be difficult to achieve in these first few months of the school year! I’m looking forward to the holidays when I can do more reading and less working!

  4. Jaana says:

    I tried to un-BIC today. I went to the gym with a friend. Decided to leave all remaining work for tomorrow after church. I am a little envious of your bike ride outside. Perhaps I need to consider buying a bike next spring…

  5. Love that you put in the time, so that you can savor the sunlight and Ruth’s book. Wish you could bottle that quality for me so I could avoid that down to the wire madness!

  6. So glad you have some work ahead so you can savor that special book, Elsie. I hope mine arrives today-it better! Our weather has been amazing too so I walked and raked leaves yesterday without a jacket. So happy to hear you can still bike. Have a great week!

  7. Elsie, you make me smile! I LOVE the thought of my book in your hands. The Closing Thoughts are my very favorite part. BIC time is worthy of celebration. I’m celebrating the possibility of some this weekend.
    Shine on,
    Ruth

  8. I have been using BIC in my classroom this week but only I have to say bottom! Good for you for getting work done! It is always nice when we can cross things off out lists! I am expecting three books to arrive on my doorstep today and Ruth’s book on Monday. Needless to say, I am working hard this weekend, so I can also sit back, relax and learn!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

