Finding Reasons to Celebrate

What can you celebrate? Share your celebrations with the world at Ruth Ayres Writes.

What can you celebrate? Share your celebrations with the world at Ruth Ayres Writes.

Celebrating is about finding joy within each day. Sometimes we don’t think we have reasons to celebrate, but if we look closely, I know a reason to celebrate can be found. So every Saturday, I will take part in sharing a celebration from the week. Thanks Ruth for inspiring writers!

I’ve been sitting at my desk, days on end (it seems) creating plans for working with teachers. I enjoy my view (when I look up from my typing), because I can keep tabs of happenings on our street. Plus I get to watch nature change with the seasons. The maple is slowing turning red. Just the tips of the branches have color, but each day the color seems to slide along the branches, reaching to hug the trunk with its color. I also have holly bushes right outside my window. This week I noticed all the red berries. That made me smile and celebrate. Red berries mean bluebirds will be coming to visit and munch during the winter days. There is nothing more beautiful than their bright blue against the white snow resting on top of the green holly leaves.

holly

I also celebrated the fact that I did not have to drive 170 miles home Friday evening. My neighbor needed to go to St. Louis on Thursday, so my husband was able to hitch a ride with him. He picked me up after my long day at school and drove home. What a blessing to be able to sit back and relax for the ride home!

11 thoughts on “Finding Reasons to Celebrate

  1. I have a spot like that but do you think I use it? NO. My comfy leather coach is my command center for everything. Yes, I do have a great view on my left, but in front of me that large screen TV. But I think I’m happy there even though I did design my dream study that goes unused. Love your connection with life outside your room with a view 🙂

  2. I’m celebrating beautiful writing. I love this image, “The maple is slowing turning red. Just the tips of the branches have color, but each day the color seems to slide along the branches, reaching to hug the trunk with its color.” Thank you!

  3. b says:

    Hi Elsie! It’s so refreshing to look up from work and notice the artistry around you — especially since fall is so gloriously appearing! 🙂 I’m always blessed to read your pieces and check out your pictures because you do take the time to marvel, while most often I speed past. Thank you for encouraging me to enjoy it all. Best, b

  4. Mary Helen took my favorite line, but I still think it’s a gorgeous one, Elsie. I love that you have a maple in your yard! They are so beautiful, and to watch the birds eating the holly-pure poetry. Glad you had that ride too!

  5. We have holly bushes right outside our dinning room windows and yes, it is a beautiful sight. We are experiencing some beautiful weather right now, so I can wait awhile longer to see those bluebirds!

  6. Ramona says:

    Love the picture of the berries on the holly bushes! I can’t wait to see a snapshot of the bluebirds there during the snow this winter. I love to celebrate the changing seasons too.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

