Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Last Saturday I made a beeline to our farmer’s market hoping that there was still one last weekend with fresh orchard peaches. Yes! The peaches were there, but sadly I was informed that this was the very last day for peaches at the market. I quickly bought my box before they all disappeared.

I wandered down the row of vendors but nothing jumped out at me. All the usual items were there in mass quantity. Peppers in every shade were piled high. Tomatoes covered tables along with lettuces, green beans, zucchini, cantaloupe, and a plethora of squashes and pumpkins. Just the same old, same old.

On a whim I decided to check out a new farmer’s market a couple of miles away. This market was started last spring, but I had never been to check it out.

Right away I knew this was different. The line of cars slowly snaked through the parking lot. It was like finding a parking spot at the mall during Christmas rush. If you spotted someone leaving, you followed them to snatch that spot. Live music grew louder the closer you got to the market. Food trucks were parked along the entrance way enticing you with all sorts of smells. Once you arrived at the pavilion, the music disappeared in the noise of people chatting. A carnival/craft show atmosphere surrounded me. Yes, there were the usual veggies, but so many more.

The booths were not just produce. There was some locally produced wine, flavored pizza crusts, bakery products, wool, spices, totes, clothing, candy, and much more.

I  made a pass through just to see all the choices. Then I went back to several booths intrigued by the produce. I bought a bunch of rainbow Swiss chard and Asian spinach (later I learned it is called Malabar). Both vendors assured me that I could cook it just  like spinach. We love sauteed spinach, so I thought I’d give it a try. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Once home I googled ways to prepare the chard. I chose a recipe and prepared it. Not a favorite in this house. Disappointed with the chard, but we did not despair, I still had the Malabar.

Hope is high for this new vegetable. It's such a pretty green!

Hope is high for this new vegetable. It’s such a pretty green!

Once again Google to the rescue, but now I am reading some things that concern me. If you cook it too long, it becomes slimy like okra. Ewww! That does not sound good.

Dinner was all ready, I just needed to saute the Malabar. It did not wilt like spinach. I worried that it would go into the slime stage. I decided to call it done. I think I am too late, I see strings of slime as I lift it onto our plates. I choked down several bites, but I cannot finish it. I don’t really taste anything. Another bust! I think I will stick to spinach.

I'm getting a bad vibe about this!

I’m getting a bad vibe about this!

On a happy note, the neighbors’ tomato plants are over producing and they are bringing the extras to me. I am a happy person! I see BLTs, Caprese salad, hamburgers with sliced tomatoes, and who knows what else in my future, but definitely no Malabar!

Two of these came from my garden. I bet you can figure out which ones.

Two of these came from my garden. I bet you can figure out which ones.

18 thoughts on “Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

  1. Terje says:

    Trying and not liking something is certainly better than not trying at all. Maybe next time when you find something new it will be delicious.

  2. Elsie,
    I love your sense of adventure with trying out new things-my mom says “Nothing ventured, nothing gained” quite often. I like that saying because it tells that you’re not afraid to try something new even if it might not work out.
    Thanks for sharing your story…all the tomatoes are pretty-I don’t think ours are ever going to turn red now.

  3. I am so glad that I am not the only one willing to jump outside of the box and try new veggies…. and admit when I fail them. 🙂 I, too, stick to spinach… thanks to Kale. 🙂

  4. Summer and farmer’s markets! You’ve inspired me to visit this Sat. Ours continues until late Oct. I love the description of the new one. I would have lingered at the bakery products and totes. You pushed yourself to be brave -outside your veggie box.

  5. Thank goodness the old standbys are still available! And so delicious… I really want a good old BLT now, and fresh sliced peaches with cream on granola for breakfast tomorrow…

  6. I love green anything, bummer it didn’t work out. 😦 It is always fun to try new things though and you were so brave! The market sounds amazing. I want to join you.

  7. Oh those tomatoes are gorgeous. Good for you for adventuring into unknown vegetable territory. I am not nearly that brave. Your peaches lament reminded me that I got an email from American Spoon about the peach harvest in Michigan. They make an amazing salsa with peaches that I use for their Peach Pumpkin Chili…fall comes late to Florida though. It will be a few months before the weather turns.

  8. Mmm, you made me hungry for fresh peaches! I liked how your vivid description made it clear that the new market was much different from your usual one, even though you didn’t really tell us what your usual one is like. Good job being brave, even though the new veggie didn’t work out this time! (I’m much too picky and much too wary of new foods, especially veggies!)

  9. Sounds like our market, in many places around the city! If you can find a parking place, you can find just about anything, including fresh vegies & fruit. I like that you tried something new, but sorry it wasn’t good. I just bought a fresh cauliflower, which I love, will cook & eat it for several meals. (I won’t buy malabar!) Thanks, Elsie.

  10. Judy C. says:

    It’s always good to try something new, but I’m hesitant unless I know exactly what I’m getting. At least the second farmer’s market was a great worthwhile adventure.

  11. How wonderful that you stepped outside of your veggie box and tried something new! I’m much more adventurous with fruits than vegetables. I would love to wander around your new farmer’s market…it sounds like a great time!

  12. Wow…I do love the sound of your farmer’s market…it sounds like so much fun. And good for you that you tried something new, even is it didn’t work out. Can’t wait for to learn of what you choose next week!

  13. Nothing better than fresh tomatoes, and how brave are you for trying something new! I am going to work on that this coming year (birthday year which starts soon)!

  14. Farmer’s markets are great places to wander through. You never know what you might fine and usually the prices are good. I admit that I like to eat and am usually willing to try new things. How do you know you don’t like something if you don’t try it?

  15. I love that you tried something new even if you did not get stellar results. With your vivid descriptions I am wandering through the Farmer’s market with you. Now go enjoy that peach as a symbol of Summer fading to Fall. Will the markets continue?

Thanks for taking time to comment.

