27 Items on the 27th

Today I begin the final year of my fifth decade. I thought I would reflect on 27 things that I love since it is the 27th day of the month and you would be completely bored if I tried to create a list to match my age. The first six on the list are rank ordered by importance but the rest are randomly listed. What do I love, let me tell you:

1. Mike, my husband, who has put up with me for thirty-six years.

2. David, my heart that walks the earth outside of my body.

3. Allie, my daughter-in-law, she loves my son and that is enough.

4. Maddy, my granddaughter, she puts a smile in my heart and on my face.

5. Other family members, those near and far.

6. Friends, they are family without the blood connection.

7. Traveling, where shall I go next?

8. Time, does one ever have enough? I love it when I find I have time to do whatever I want. That is a luxury I do not take for granted.

9. “Where do you want to eat tonight?” Those words are music to my ears, I don’t have to fix dinner.

10. Picture books, I am addicted to reading them and figuring out who needs to read this book.

11. Library book sale helps to feed my addiction at a low cost.

12. Patio in the backyard, the best place to sit back, relax, and read.

13. Peach tree in my yard, oh, the bounty is juicy-ful, but the season is too short.

14. Browsing the picture books of Barnes and Noble (we don’t have an independent book store in town, :-(), this fuels the addiction.

15. Key lime pie concrete, this is only available for about a month in the summer at our local frozen custard stand. Oh the tartness combined with sweetness is deee-liiish-ous!

16. A package containing a book in the mailbox. Need I say more? I didn’t think so.

17. Playing Draw Something and having a conversation through the chat option with friends I don’t ever see and some I have never met.

18. Ocean cruise, river cruise, any kind of a cruise.

19. Shoe shopping and finding shoes, I love a new pair of shoes.

20. Meeting friends for coffee with time to sit, visit, and sip.

21. Good health, at least I think so. Friday I have a physical, so we will see what the doc says.

22. Comfortable weather to ride my bike. This means low 70’s, sun, no wind.

23. Blue cheese, love, love, love that tangy taste mixed into food.

24. Coconut crunch, a coconutty, vanilla pudding, whipped cream dessert that I always requested on my birthday.

25. Starting the writing journey by blogging.

26. You, if you are reading this, I want you to know how much I appreciate your comments.

27. I did not have to make my birthday cake today. 🙂  I ordered an Elvis cake. It is banana cake filled with a peanut butter ganache and peanut butter frosting.

elvis

There you have my list of things I currently love. I know I wouldn’t want to live without one single item. I hope you might have found yourself as a part of one of my things.

20 thoughts on “27 Items on the 27th

  1. Your rationale for 27 made me smile. I especially loved your line about your daughter in law. Happy Birthday (a day late now)! Looks like you got a delicious cake to celebrate.

  2. I love your list of 27 things that you love! Brilliant idea! What a fun list…Happy belated birthday! Hope your day was fantastic!
    PS. I have a Maddie, too. My daughter, Maddie, puts a smile in my heart and on my face, too.

  3. Happy Birthday, Friend! I wish we could share cake through blogs! 🙂 That cake looks AMAZING!!! I hope you had a great day, and I loved reading your list. ~j.

  4. Such a fun list, Elsie! I love the blend of serious and light-hearted. Your cake sounds AMAZING… my husband is super jealous! 🙂

    I appreciate you, and all the wonderful pictures and words you share every week!

  5. Love your list. I have to say, now that school has started, number 9 is my favorite. And since my hubby is semi retired now, I’m hearing it more! Here’s to a great day!

  6. Lynn says:

    Happy birthday!!! The cake sounds sinful and I want some right now :- Treasure all your loves I especially love your description of David… Your heart outside your body…. I know exactly what you mean!

  7. Wow, that Elvis cake sounds awesome. Have one slice for me, Elsie! Happy happy birthday-many of my favorite people are born in August! I also, like Nancy, would like some of that Key Lime Concrete. Wherever I go, if there’s key lime pie on the menu, I order it! And I think your list is wonderful, including family, friends and books-couldn’t be better!

  8. What a delightful list. I could hear your voice as you engaged with us, your readers. Happy Birthday with a big hug and smile! Books – oh yes, books. I hope you have time to enjoy some fun and relaxation tonight.
    Love #2 – my heart that walks outside my body. You brought on some emotion.

  9. Two years and finishing strong... says:

    Happy Birthday…to you…I’m singing. Okay, I totally want the lime concrete. I have never had it! I want coffee again with you soon:) What is the latest picture book? xo

  10. Terje says:

    Palju õnne sünnipäevaks! Happy Birthday! The list sounds just like you. It brought a smile to my face. Enjoy your day and may the new year be filled with all the wonderful things you love.

  11. Elsie, hope you have a day filled with delight from dawn to dusk (and maybe a new pair of shoes in the near future)! Happy birthday! What a fun way to celebrate your special day.

  12. Happy, happy birthday to You! Love your list – filled with all the good things in life that are important. Enjoy your birthday cake – hopefully dinner out will be included.

  13. An Elvis cake is just the perfect kind of cake with which to celebrate this list and your remarable life journey, Elsie. Happy, happy birthday – and have an extra slice for me:)!!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

