When It Rains . . .

Lately we’ve been experiencing a monsoon. Every morning we wake up to rain falling. Sometimes it is a driving rain that makes you glad you don’t have to go anywhere. Sometimes it is a gentle shower. Usually it stops for a period of the day, but by evening the rain returns.

Now I am not complaining about the rain. We were in a drought last summer, so this is a blessed change. The plants appreciate all the moisture. However, it is difficult to mow. The yard is so saturated that every step squishes as you walk. As I walk through the yard, I find it is as slippery as ice.

When rain is predicted, my husband moves the patio furniture closer to the house and piles the cushions to protect them from being saturated. The furniture and cushions have been piled up for most of the week. So when the weatherman said we would be having a break from the perpetual precipitation, my husband decided to move the cushions back to their rightful place.

I was sitting at the kitchen table when I heard a yelp from outside. I jumped up from the table expecting to see my husband on the ground or some other catastrophe. I rushed out the door to discover a wild look in his eyes as he was backing away and pointing to the cushions in the corner. My head whipped around to see what caused all this commotion.

Black snakes are good to have around as they eat mice.

Black snakes are good to have around as they eat mice.

Apparently our friend had decided it was too wet on the ground, so he sought refuge in a high and dry place. There had been cushions and pillow piled onto this webbed frame. The snake had worked its way up at least five feet to find this cozy resting place to wait out the wet.

Although I don’t care for snakes, I knew this one was a good one to have around. I just didn’t want him that close. My husband got a trashcan and a broom so we could capture the critter and set it free on the other side of our fence. However, it was not buying into our plan. It wrapped its tail around the webbing and refused to allow us to put it into the trashcan. As we struggled to convince it this was the best plan, it dropped to the ground and slithered under the bush. With a flick of its tail, it disappeared from sight.

My husband and I just looked at each other. What could we do? Neither of us wanted to wrangle with a snake. I just hope it returns to its hole and does not return to the patio. The lesson learned is that if the cushions need to be stacked up for more than a day, they will be in the garage. Hopefully that will deter any future visitors.

16 thoughts on “When It Rains . . .

  1. I like snakes and lizards (outside spaces only though:). I am glad you had a very reasonable response and this snake should have understood and cooperated! I delight in your garden tales.

  2. Hahaha, I love that you still took the time to get a picture before you figured out what to do with it, Elsie! I giggled at your description of how the snake did not want to follow your plan for getting rid of it. šŸ™‚ I think animals must like you, because you always have so many visitors!

  3. I despise snakes. They give me the willies…but tonight we had a skunk in our front yard (and yes, we live in the city limits!) so I don’t know which would be worse!

  4. I’m impressed that you thought to snap a picture of your friend before attempting to corral him in a trashcan. I appreciate snakes on one level and know that they are useful creatures, but I don’t like coming across one unexpectedly.

  5. Ramona says:

    I’m sure if I had discovered this snake, the entire block would have heard my screams. Like Amy, there is no way you would have found me trying to get it into a trash can! It’s fun to read this post about the rain. We’ve had very little rain this summer (we’re not complaining), but I also say the rain can return when school starts because it makes it easier to go back.

  6. Judy C. says:

    Elsie, we certainly have been inundated with rain this summer and I’m ready for some sunshine. I’m not a fan of snakes either, especially when they are in unsuspecting places. I’m sure he was more afraid of you and your husband, especially when you were trying to corral him.

  7. Love its head peeking out in the pic, Elsie. Black snakes are good, but not in the cushions. I’m sorry for all the rain, see on the news about your flooding too. We’ve had unusual rain lately too, but only in the late afternoons-so different from last year!

  8. Aaahhhh! I detest snakes and I almost screamed when I saw that picture! You and your hubby were brave for trying to get it into the trashcan. I wouldn’t have benn able to do that!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

